Crockpot Cheese Tortellini Soup

cheese tortellini soup

I’ve never really started using a crockpot or slow cooker until a few months ago. This device wasn’t used much during my childhood and when we did use it, it was to make chili or cook a whole chicken in it. After all, Puerto Rican’s don’t really use them as a cooking method.

I’ll just say it now, sometimes I just don’t know what I’m doing and I’m praying it will come out alright. Which I think is something every home cook does when trying something new. I really hate failed recipes. I get frustrated and disappointed and all I want to do is throw the food out because why have anyone eat this gruel or slop of a meal I made. Maybe I shouldn’t be so hard on myself, but I have EXPECTATIONS dammit!

It’s a learning process I’ve noticed. Cakes come out perfect, everything else – not so much. To make things worse, Bryan and I are in the middle of remodeling our house so we’re in between our house and his parents house. We sleep at our house, but meals and showers are done at my in laws. Also, my mother in law is Mormon and chooses not to cook on Sundays. So, I decided to take over Sunday meals as a hey, thanks for letting us live here and what have you. I don’t think my father in law likes my cooking. He’s a simple country man, you know – rice, beans, pork, meat, potatoes – and I guess my cooking is too city and complex for his liking. Luckily, Bryan eats whatever I cook without questioning what I made for him.

But I made my first soup two weeks ago and it was pretty phenomenal. I took it from one of those Facebook recipe pages. Sometimes I find amazing recipes like this one and sometimes I find absolute flops of why on earth did this come out so badly.

My father in law raved about how amazing the soup was and went for seconds. Which surprised me considering he lied to me stating he didn’t know what tortellini was when I asked him if he liked tortellini the night before. I think putting pork/sausage in it, which my in laws love and I hate with an insane mad passion probably won him over.

Crockpot Cheese Tortellini Soup

1 bag of frozen tortellini (19oz)
1 bag of fresh spinach (5 oz)
2 cans of Italian style diced tomatoes (14 oz each), do NOT drain
2 cans of chicken broth, do NOT use reduce sodium (14 oz each)
1(8 oz)  block of cream cheese, cut into cubes – also use regular
1 lb. of ground sausage

DIRECTIONS:

Brown the sausage. You can use any of those breakfast sausage that come in 1 pound rolls. I used regular because I couldn’t find the Italian one. Or, if you want a little kick of flavor, you can use the hot.

Put all the ingredients except for the spinach in the slow cooker. Put the spinach in with everything and it breaks down creating a green coloured soup which doesn’t seem too appetizing to me. There’s a reason why they used green split pea and ham soup in the Exorcist.

Cook on low for 3 – 4 hours on low or on high for 2 1/2 hours (I accidentally had it on high and it came out amazing)

One hour before serving this awesomeness, put the spinach in and stir.

Leave the lid off during the last 30 minutes of cooking to allow the soup to thicken. Unless you like water soup, then leave the lid on. It’s all up to you.

Garnish with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese when served.

The next time I make this I am sooo adding sliced mushrooms and onions to it. I heart extra veggies and maybe the sauce won’t need to be thickened up due to the mushrooms and onions absorbing some of the liquid while it’s cooking. Just a thought.

SERVES about 8. These are BIG servings.
calories: 435, carbohydrates: 32 grams, sugar: 4 grams, protein: 19 grams

One thought on “Crockpot Cheese Tortellini Soup

  1. Pingback: Tortellini with Greek Yogurt and Mushroom Sauce «Dizzy Busy and Hungry!

Leave a Reply

