Unstuffed Cabbage Rolls

Ever tried to make stuffed cabbage rolls? It’s hard. It’s time consuming. It’s just down right frustrating unless you’re Irish and then it comes to you naturally.

The first week I moved up to Central Texas, my mother in law made stuffed cabbage rolls. I was watching TV in the living room when I heard a lot of, “Shoot.” “Dangit.” and other exclamations of frustration. I walked into the kitchen and found her sad attempts of cabbage rolling.

“Need help?”
“Yes. Have you ever made cabbage rolls?”
“Nope, but I’m sure I can figure it out.”

It took me two seconds to figure it out. But I learned the cabbage has to be blanched perfectly to do a tight roll.

A few months later I came across this recipe on Facebook. It was on every recipe page I went on and it was reblogged many a time. This recipe tastes just like a stuffed cabbage roll. If you need a higher carb count, throw some rice in a rice cooker and place it at the bottom of the bowl and add the cabbage mixture on top. My husband hates cabbage and liked this recipe. He also looked at me and said I should use the recipe to make real stuffed cabbage rolls. Maybe next time sweetie, but until then, we’re going to take the easy route.

cabbage

Unstuffed Cabbage Rolls

1.75 pounds of ground beef (I always use 80%)
A little bit of olive oil
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1 large onion, chopped
1 small cabbage chopped
2 (14oz) cans of diced tomatoes
1 (8oz) can of tomato sauce
1/2 cup of water
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 teaspoon salt

DIRECTIONS:

In a large skillet, heat olive oil and brown meat with onions over medium heat. The ground beef should no longer be pink and the onions should be tender.

Add garlic and stir of one minute. Then add salt and pepper

Add cabbage, water, tomatoes, and tomato sauce.

Bring to boil. Cover and simmer for about 30 minutes.

You really don’t need the water if you choose not to drain the tomatoes. If you want that pop of tomatoes that cabbage rolls are known for, then don’t drain the diced tomatoes. Also, add cooked rice if you don’t want extra liquid. The rice will soak up the liquid perfectly leaving only a little bit extra to make a gravy, or pour over the mixture.

Makes 8 servings. Calories: 325, Carbohydrates: 13 grams, Sugar: 7 grams, Protein: 29 grams.

If you add rice, the calorie, carb, and sugar amount will go up, so please keep that in mind.

2 thoughts on “Unstuffed Cabbage Rolls

  1. Shaving recently been diagnosed as a type 2 diabetic who also suffers from Crohn’s disease I find you blog supper helpful…I’m eating unstuffed cabbage rolls as I type this and I’m making little freezer packs of leftovers to take to work
    Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

