Oreo Truffles

You might have started noticing, I have a sweet tooth. It’s the diabetes. The only thing I craved before my diabetic days was cookie cake and ice cream sundaes and trifle and Mumika’s cheesecake. And then I got the diabetes.

Sugar. It’s the devil. It runs through my veins begging me to get more of that glorious sweet sweet nectar. I crave sugar every second of every hour of every day of every month of every year.

It also doesn’t help that my father was English and the English do love their sweets. Growing up, Mumika always had a cake or brownie or pie in the oven twice a week. My husband also has a sweet tooth and gets the munchies. It only makes sense that I bake at least once a week some sugary confection. It’s part of my upbringing, heritage, culture, and diabetic makeup.

However, I rather bake than buy these baked goods off the shelf. I might not be in control of my sugar cravings (when I go to the grocery store, I walk around the bakery to smell the sugary goodness that way I won’t buy anything), but I am in control of what ingredients I put in my mouth.

These oreo truffles are a cinch to make without breaking your budget and perfect for those horrid potluck parties that seem to spring up during the holiday season. Even better, there’s only three (3!) ingredients! Also, you can either use white or milk chocolate, or a combo of both. There are two ways to make these truffles. The easy and the give you a little workout before you eat the truffles that way everything cancels out way.

oreo 2 oreo1

Oreo Truffles

30 oreos, crushed
1 8oz block of cream cheese, softened
10 oz of chocolate, melted

DIRECTIONS

Easy:

Put 30 oreos and the cream cheese in a food processor and chop until the consistency of dough forms.

Boring!

Put some muscle into it:

Put 30 oreos into a bowl, get out a sturdy glass and crush them until they are a powdery dust. It’s a great way to develop arm muscles and get rid of stress and anger. Imagine everything that has been problematic and crush those oreos!

After the oreos are crushed nicely, add the softened cream cheese and mix it in the bowl until it resembles cookie dough.

I personally like the put some muscle into it – it’s a work out and a stress reliever! Perfect for diabetic everywhere.

The rest of the directions:

Form little 1 inch balls with your hands or a melon baller and place on a wax paper lined baking sheet. Then put the truffles into the fridge for an hour to firm up.

Right before you take the truffles out, heat up the chocolate in a microwave safe bowl for 1 minute. Stir around 30 seconds. Make sure the chocolate does not harden.

Dip truffles into chocolate with forks and coat. Place the coated truffle back on the baking sheet and put back into the fridge so that the chocolate becomes a hardened shell of yumminess.

If you want to be all fancy, take 4 oreos and crush them to sprinkle over chocolate coating.

Makes 45 truffles. Per 1 truffle: Calories: 73, Carbohydrates: 8 grams, Sugar: 6 grams, Protein: 1 gram.

I found these to be highly rich. My husband warned me they were rich. He likes to warn me about the sweets before I eat them, I don’t know why, but he does. Must be a manly protect wife from her diabetic ways kind of thing. My husband ate 5 of these and downed a glass of milk. Turns out they go great with milk. Maybe Santa would enjoys these, for those of you with kids. I, on the other hand, could only eat 1. ONE! I got through one and was like, okay I’m done.

One thought on “Oreo Truffles

  1. Pingback: Monday, Monday, so good to me! | Night Owl Kitchen

Leave a Reply

