Honey Fried Bananas

I’m on a less than 5 ingredient kick lately.

I found this on recipe on facebook and was intrigued. I love fried bananas. LOVE. LOVE. LOVE. I’m half Puerto Rican, it’s in my nature. When I was little, Mumika would bring home baby bananas and fry them with eggs for breakfast. Hell, A good dinner to me is tostones (fried plantain) with two sunny side up eggs. I dip my tostones in the yolk, so amazing. If fried bananas are on the dessert menu, trust me – I always order them. Brazilian Steakhouse with their fried banana as a side makes me insanely happy. So, I bought me some bananas and gave this recipe a go.

After I ate this version of yumminess, I looked at the carb and sugar content of honey.

17 grams of Carbs for one tablespoon of honey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 16 grams of sugar!!!!!!!!!!

There are ONLY 12 GRAMS of carbs and sugar in 1 TABLESPOON of WHITE SUGAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 14 GRAMS of carbs and 13 GRAMS of sugar in BROWN SUGAR!!!!!!!! 8 GRAMS of carbs and sugar in POWDERED!!!!!!!!!!!

And they CLAIM HONEY is BETTER for you than SUGAR! I’ll eat sugar any day of the bloody week. Honey can take it’s overabundance of carbs and sugar and shove it. What the bloody hell are these crazed supposed health freak homeopathic idiots thinking?!?! Honey is glorified sugar with the health food stamp of approval.

So yeah. This has become more of a warning post instead of an actual healthy eating post. It’s a warning that sometimes healthy eating is not healthy eating but horrible eating posing as a hey sugar is bad so try this instead. Bullocks! Bloody Hell, my whole bloody breakfast is shot from eating these damn “Healthy” bananas. So angry and frustrated. I mean, I just blew my breakfast carb count on this and can only drink water to make sure I don’t go over. Juice, nope. Not even watered down. Milk, nope. Tea, nope because I put milk and sugar in it. Coffee, I do the same with my coffee as my tea so no go there.

The only thing that’s good about this whole disaster is that the bananas are slightly green meaning less sugar but it won’t cancel out the damn honey.

At least it tasted good.

honeybanana

Honey Fried Bananas

1 slightly green banana
3/4 tablespoon of honey
1 tablespoon water
sprinkle of cinnamon

Directions:

Slice banana. Spray skillet with cooking spray and toss banana slices in once skillet is hot.

Flip bananas over for an even sear and remove from heat.

While waiting for bananas to cook, whisk together the honey and the water in a small bowl. After bananas are removed from heat, pour honey mixture over bananas. Lots of bubbling will occur as the honey mixture evaporates.

After bananas cool down, sprinkle with cinnamon and eat.

serves 1 person. Calories: 100, Carbohydrates: 25 grams, Sugar: 18 grams, Fiber: 4 grams, Protein: 1 gram.

There’s 4 grams of dietary fiber. Awesome. This means I can deduct those grams of fiber from the carbs making it only 21 grams of carbs. 4 and over you can deduct. But it’s only 4 grams of fiber or over. But still, Honey – you are evil.

Leave a Reply

