Slow cooker Lasagna

A few days ago, I had a day off. I usually have Sundays and Mondays off. Sunday because my boss is a devout Christian and believes Sundays are for family. Monday because my boss is usually at the studio she owns working.

So it’s my day off. I wake up, take care of the puppies, feed the puppies, read for a few hours, go to the store to get food and snacks, shower, water my garden, play with the puppies and have dinner cooked by the time Bryan gets home. It’s called being a good wife. And I know I’m a really really good wife. Obviously I was born for this. Well this, motherhood (one day), and being a daughter. And a loyal friend. It’s extremely Virgo of me despite the fact that most people have a hard time believing I’m a Virgo.

What I don’t understand, and please don’t get mad when you read this, is housewives that don’t do anything all day? They do nothing. And when their husband comes home starving, there’s nothing on the table. I would think you could at least put dinner on the table, but some fail to do even that. If the husband works, brings home the money, that means you cook and keep everything in order. I’m not damning housewives in general, I know for a fact I could never be one, I would go insane. But if I can have a meal on the table at the end of the day after coming home from work, why on earth are some housewives not be able to? Piecing together a meal is not that hard. Or is it? So if you’re a housewife that takes care of the house, the kids, and has dinner ready by the time your husband comes home, I applaud you. Because, there is no way I could do that. I have to go to work, it’s the only way to stop me going on massive killing sprees induced by boredom.

But I had a day off, and stressed to my husband how I was able to cook a delightful meal and get other things done before he came home. Because that’s what wives are supposed to do. Blame the English/Puerto Rican upbringing on this very old way of thinking.

This recipe originally called for 29 oz of tomato sauce. I just could not do that, the amount seemed absolutely ridiculous to me. So I decided to do one can of tomato sauce and one can of stewed tomatoes which put together equaled 29 oz. The stewed tomatoes really give you that tomato-y taste that everyone loves in homemade lasagna.

lasagna

Slow Cooker Lasagna

1 pound lean ground beef
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
1 (15 oz) can tomato sauce
1 (6 oz) can tomato paste
1 (14 oz) can of Italian stewed tomatoes
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2  (12 ounce) package lasagna noodles
15 oz of ricotta cheese
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
16 oz shredded mozzarella cheese
2 tablespoon of Italian seasonings

DIRECTIONS

Season ground beef with Italian seasoning and brown it until no longer pink, drain the fat.

Add garlic and onions and cook until onions are tender.

Add tomato sauce, tomato paste, stewed tomatoes, oregano, and salt. Mix until well combines. Bring heat up to a simmer.

Simmer until meat mixture if fully cooked.

While meat is simmering, combine parmesan, ricotta, and mozzarella cheese together in a small bowl.

Once meat mixture is cooked, remove from heat.

Get crock pot/slow cooker. Put a little of the meat mixture into the bottom of the crock pot. Then add a layer of uncooked lasagna noodles (you may have to break the noodles to fit). Then cover the noodles with some of the cheese mixture.

Continue this layering (meat, noodles, cheese) until all mixtures are used up.

Put setting on low for 4 – 6 hours, or put on High for 1 hour and then low for an hour.

serves 8. Calories: 561, Carbohydrates: 40 grams, Sugar: 11 grams, Fiber: 5 grams, Protein: 47 grams.

Remember that fiber rule I wrote about (4 grams or over you can deduct from the carbs)? The new carb count will be 35 grams. So even though this can be considered a mid level carb count, this version of Lasagna is very healthy for you. 1 serving will fill you up to the point of bursting. Not only that, but since you’re only using roughly 10 strips of lasagna in a huge slow cooker, it reduces the calorie and carb count without sacrificing flavor.

Leave a Reply

