Pound Cake

If you have seen my Thanksgiving Menu, you would have noticed that a Tiramisu is on that menu as one of the desserts.

Mumika has been making Tiramisu since I was a teenager. But this post isn’t about her awesome tiramisu. Nope, it is not.

Tiramisu is made by using sponge cake, lady fingers, or pound cake. We use pound cake. For years, Mumika used the Sara Lee pound cake but since I’m making her Tiramisu, I’m doing it my way. All from scratch. Which means, I have to make the pound cake.

This is a plain pound cake. It calls for the normal stuff and one weird one – sour cream. I wouldn’t call it a secret ingredient because I came across a whole spew of huh, I didn’t know that was in it ingredients. I went to the grocery store today to get everything I had forgotten yesterday and still managed to forget the sour cream. Luckily, I had some at my in laws. Also, this recipe called for 2 cups of sugar and 4 eggs. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and decided to take an egg out so it wouldn’t taste eggy. I decided to use 2% milk instead of whole because a) it was my in laws gallon, b) there was hardly anything in that gallon, and c) even though there is usually another gallon of milk in the fridge, there wasn’t one this time. That and the fact that I’m using their eggs so that they won’t go bad is bad enough.

It makes two loaves.

poundcake

Pound Cake

2 sticks of butter
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
3 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup 2% milk
1/2 cup sour cream (I used fat-free)
1 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS:

Spray two loaf pans with cooking spray, then line them with wax paper and spray cooking spray on the wax paper.

In a small bowl combine milk, sour cream, and vanilla. Stir until combined. You may see flakes of sour cream in the milk mixture before you use it.

Mix butter and sugar in separate bowl until light and fluffy.

Beat eggs into the butter and sugar one egg at a time.

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt, and baking powder. Make sure it is well integrated.

Add the flour and milk mixture to the eggs, alternating between the dry and wet mixtures. Always start and end with the flour mixture. You are going to have to use those are muscles for stirring the batter. That’s ok, just think of it as a work out. Burning calories to allow you to eat one slice.

Divide the batter between loaf pans and smooth top with a spatula.

Bake at 350 for 1 hour. Take loafs out and let cool in loaf pan for 10 minutes. Take pound cake out of pan and have it cool down some more.

Serves 30, 1/2 inch slices. Calories: 135, Carbohydrates: 17 grams, Sugar: 7 grams, Protein: 2 grams.

Keep in mind this is a plain pound cake recipe. If a recipe calls for pound cake and you have the time and ingredients to make it, this would be the recipe to use. This way you don’t have to go into the freezer section of the grocery store, look at how pretty much there is only Sara Lee pound cake and it only comes in butter flavor. Not to mention one slice of Sara Lee has 135 calories, 25 grams of carbs and 15 grams of sugar. Now you know why I stress the importance of controlling what goes into your body by making things from scratch. Sure you could go the easy way, but I don’t know if you have noticed – pound cake is pretty addictive, you can’t eat just one slice. I’ve watch Mumika eat 1/2 a Sara Lee loaf in one sitting. Okay it was more or less, much on the pound cake while cooking dinner but that is beside the point. Make the pound cake and have no guilt. Besides, this recipe make two loaves! Use one, freeze the other and save a trip to the grocery store. Win-Win for everybody!

I would wait until it is completely room temperature before eating it. I usually can’t so the first slice is always ruined on me.

This pound cake is suitable to use for tiramisu and strawberry shortcakes.

 

Leave a Reply

