Roasted Carrots and Sweet Potato

Another major vegetable in the health food kick is the sweet potato. I am addicted to anything sweet potato. Sweet Potato Fries. Sweet Potato Chips. Sweet Potato hash. Sweet Potato tater tots. OMG, I love the tater tots. Thank you Sonic for introducing me to that form of yumminess.

I wasn’t always this way. Mumika always did candied yams for the holidays, and I hated it. Then she started to bake them in a medallion form and I was like okay, I can do this.

When Bryan and I were in Maui for our honeymoon, I tried sweet potato fries and I haven’t really looked back. Not only is sweet potato incredibly good for you, but they keep my blood sugar in check. I get more lows after I sweet potatoes than any other kind of veggie. Sweet potatoes are known for lowing blood sugar and regulating insulin levels in the blood. They are a diabetics super veggie. If I have a choice between a regular potato made food or a sweet potato made food, I will always pick the sweet potato. ALWAYS.

So, of course I had to come up with a yummy way to eat sweet potato for Thanksgiving. I could have done a sweet potato mash, but I think I’ll hold off on that until Christmas. I feel like this is a great way not only to add vibrant color to your table, but some amazing flavor. Not to mention, it smells heavenly while baking. And you could use these vegetables for breakfast the next day as a substitute for hashbrowns.

Roasted Carrots and Sweet Potato

2 sweet potatoes, cubed
3/4 onion, julienned
1 bag of mini carrots
8 mushrooms, diced
olive oil

DIRECTIONS

Get a 14 x 11 baking sheet, spray it with cooking spray.

Spread carrots and sweet potato evenly on baking sheet. Then add the onions over the carrots and sweet potato. Sprinkle the mushrooms over the onions and drizzle olive oil over the mushrooms.

Bake for 45 minutes at 350.

Scoop into a casserole dish.

Serves 8. Calories: 80, Carbohydrates: 15 grams, Sugar: 6 grams, Fiber: 4 grams, Protein: 2 grams.

If you don’t like cooking spray, or fear a burned roasted look, use chicken broth instead.

Leave a Reply

