Green Bean and Asparagus Bundles

I used to love green bean casserole. The cream of mushroom soup. The green beans. The crunchy fried onions.

There’s several ways to make a healthy version of this casserole, but I opted out of doing that this year. Besides, knowing me, I would find a way to make my own cream of mushroom soup and I just didn’t feel like I had the time to do the research. This isn’t the first time I’ve decided to do something non- traditional : a few years ago I made little presents for Christmas dinner. It was mashed potato stuffed cabbage with bacon wrapped around it.

Instead of doing a deconstructed green bean casserole, which I might do for Christmas, I went with something simple and elegant.

Green Bean and Asparagus Bundles

1/2 pound of green beans(must be fresh)
30 spears of asparagus
7 strips of bacon

DIRECTIONS

Snip ends of green beans.

Separate green beans into piles of 5.

Chop asparagus to be same length of green beans. Add 4 spears of asparagus to piles of green beans.

Wrap each pile with a slice of bacon.

Spray 11×14 baking sheet with cooking spray. Place bundles onto baking sheet. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Serves 7. Calories: 63, Carbohydrates: 4 grams, Sugar: 1 gram, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 5 grams.

My husband loved these. He picked up the plate and was all, “This is my plate.” The key is fresh green beans. Anyone can heat up canned green beans, but you don’t know what or how much stuff is in the canned version. And if you’re husband is a stickler for fresh produce like mine is (he will not eat canned green beans at all), this is great way to incorporate fresh produce into your holiday dinner. I realize sometimes canned makes your life easier but think of all the nutrients you loose with canned vegetables.

Tired of the usual yet oh so holiday yumminess that is green bean casserole and want something that makes its own portion size? I would totally do this. It’s healthy, you don’t have to add extra salt do to the bacon, it tastes amazing, and there’s portion control. Nothing tastes better than not feeling guilty for eating all the desserts or having an extra slice of pie.

 

One thought on “Green Bean and Asparagus Bundles

  1. Pingback: The Christmas Menu | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

