Oven Baked Chicken with Cheesy Corn Casserole

There always seems to be these incredibly long lines at the grocery store. ALWAYS.

As you wait, you either play with your phone, stare off into space, or go through the magazines. I usually go through the little recipe books with the every recipe is an index card thingys. I rarely ever find a recipe that meets my standards but I like knowing what’s out there. A few weeks ago, I came across this corn casserole like crockpot recipe.

While I was going through my phone the other day, I came across the recipe again. I always take pictures of recipes that interest me. It’s free, and you can’t lose it unless something happens to your phone.

All of a sudden all I could think about was this bloody corn thing and how it would go great with some oven baked chicken on it. So I made it today. It was AMAZING! Some good ole comfort food that you don’t realize is comfort food and fills you up in the process. So yummy, so amazing. It has a little kick to it, thanks to how the cumin compliments the poblano, but its a nice kick, a soothing jump that wakes your tastebuds up. And the cheese, perfect. Wow. I LOVE love love wholesome meals.

chickencorncasserole

Oven Baked Chicken with Cheesy Corn Casserole

4 chicken breast
any marinade you want to use – I used greek

Cheesy Corn Casserole
2 pounds of frozen corn, thawed
2 poblano peppers chopped
1 yellow onion, julienne
3 oz of cream cheese, cubed
2 tablespoons butter, cubed
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 cup shredded sharp cheddar

Directions

In a small bowl, combine all the ingredients for the cheesy corn casserole, except the cheese. Put corn mixture into a crockpot and cook on high for 2 hours.

15 minutes before the 2 hours are up, spread the cheese over the corn mixture in the crock pot. Cover and continue to cook it on high.

While the casserole is cooking, get a baking dish and put the chicken breast in it. Pour the marinade evenly over the chicken. Place it in the oven at 350 for about 45 minutes.

serves 8. Calories: 239, Carbohydrates: 26 grams, Sugar: 5 grams,  Fiber: 3 grams,  Protein: 18 grams

The reason why you pour the marinade onto the chicken and then cook it is so that you will get this moist succulent piece of meat that falls apart with a fork. That’s my trick. Mumika has been wondering for year how I get my chicken perfect. It’s not putting it in marinade for 15 minutes like most people do. Or baking it for a certain amount of time. I’m telling you cook it in the marinade and it will come out amazing every single time. Also pick a marinade with no carbs, like the Greek dressing. I love that Greek dressing, it is always on all my salads.

The only problem is the whole kitchen smelled so yummy that I couldn’t wait for the bloody cheese to melt and said fuck it I’m going in.

I could not have dreamt this meal would turn out sooo omg where has this meal been all my life and why did it take me 30 years to come up with it and put two and two together. Mumika would be jealous of this meal. I can already hear her say, make this when you come home. No Mumika, I won’t. I have more scrumptious plans for you.

What’s great about this recipe is that it literally cooks itself. Sure you chop a little here and there, but then you just dump everything into it’s spot and let the machines do all the work. Instead of slaving over that stove, make this meal instead. Then plate it so it looks like you took all day.

So good. Nomnomnomnom.

Leave a Reply

