Strawberry Daiquiri Jello Shots

I really should know better than to try something on pintrest. I love seeing the epic fails from others who decided this looks easy, let’s try it, what could have gone wrong. But, I like all those before me thought – oh that’s cute, I could do that, let’s try that.

Wrong.

First off, don’t use the 6 oz strawberry jello. Use only the 3 oz, the small box.

Second. Strawberries are evil. I couldn’t find strawberries big enough to hallow out. These people must live in strawberryville or something. Because they were so hard to hallow out, the hole was shallow in fear of tearing the strawberry. I ended up tearing 5 of them up and eating them. Once I poured the jello, three more had holes. Moral of the story – strawberries are like fragile little butterflies and break easily. Practice will hopefully make perfect.

What did I do with the rest of my jello? Poured it into 2oz containers and made actually jello shots, of course.

When elegance is a bust, go to the original form of sluttiness.

Strawberry Daiquiri jello shots

The jello shot itself
One package of strawberry jello
2 cups boiling water
1/2 cup cold water
1 cup Malibu Coconut rum

Directions
Boil the water

Add the jello mix to the water and stir until jello is dissolved.

Remove from heat and add the water and rum.

Put into 2 oz containers and chill.

Makes 15 jello shots. Per jello shot. Calories: 35, Carbohydrates:20 grams, Sugar:5 grams.

I made the shots New Orleans style – the right way. In New Orleans, you can always taste the coconut rum in it and it is amazing.

image

To make the shot in the stawberry

36 strawberries
Strawberry Daiquiri jello shot (above recipe)

Directions

Chop the bottom of the strawberries off so that the strawberry can stand up.

Hallow out the strawberries. Be sure not to nick it or else there will be a hole.

Make the jello.

Pour jello into the cavity of the strawberry.

Put into the fridge and chill in the fridge overnight.

Garnish with whipping cream before consuming.

Makes 36 strawberries. Per strawberry. Calories: 18, Carbohydrates: 9 grams, Sugar: 3 grams.

Oh. My. God. These little strawberries were worth the frustration of making. Absolutely amazing. I could gobble them up. The smushiness of the jello when you bite into it created a texture of happy surprise in my mouth. The strawberries make everything taste fresh. A cool fresh sensation to the palate. I think I might make the margarita version for 4th of July.

I would use a 1/4 teaspoon measuring spoon to hallow out the strawberries. Makes it way easier. You can freeze it. And you can use the pulp later for smoothies or puree them for strawberry lemonade.

One thought on “Strawberry Daiquiri Jello Shots

  1. Pingback: Have A Daiquiri | RecipeReminiscing

Leave a Reply

