Caprese Brushetta

Whatever Italian came up with this appetizer was a genius. A food genius that was creative in understanding simplicity in food.

Too often chefs, mostly amateur wannabe chefs (I’ve been watching a lot of kitchen nightmares and masterchef), like to bedazzle people with complex hot messes. I’m sure my father in law would categorize me as one. I’m just a simple man, my ass.

Then you go to Italy and the Mediterranean cities where the air is nicer, the ambiance is relaxed and the only thing that matters is the beauty that surrounds you and good food. I have yet to make it to these cities but just based on the landscape and the art that came from that part of the planet, you just know its not only the finer things in life that care about, it is everything.

This is how bruschetta was born and displayed to the masses.

Bryan and I heart bruschetta. If its on the menu at a restaurant and we’ve already tried the mozzarella sticks (Bryan can’t say no to them and he has high standards and a top 4 list), we will order the bruschetta.

There are so many versions out there with the craziest ingredients that its almost impossible to find a classic recipe. As usual, I went to several websites before creating my own. Its called research. Everyone does it.

What makes this a caprese version is the introduction of the mozzarella cheese.
image

Caprese Bruschetta

10 plum tomatoes, diced
4 fresh basil leaves, shredded
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella
1/4 cup olive oil.
A dash of salt and pepper
36 pieces of Italian bread, halved

Directions

Toast bread in over for 12 minutes. Once roasted, rub a clove of garlic on the top.

Top toasted bread with mozzarella cheese and put back into the oven. Leave in oven until cheese melts.

Chop tomatoes, put into medium bowm and season with salt and pepper. Leave for 10 minutes. Add garlic, basil, and olive oil. Stir until well combined.

Spoon bruschetta onto the cheesy toasted bread.

Makes 36. Per brushetta slice. Calories: 50, Carbohydrates: 6 grams, Sugar: 1 gram, Protein: 1 gram.

Indulge yourself. Look at the carbs. Its nonexistent. And then my husband attacked the leftovers the next morning.

This was a big hit for one of my closest friends.

I know my husband love my cooking, but to have a close friend love it, it puts a smile on my face.

She’s also lactose intolerant so I made sure there were slices of bread without that nasty cheese for her.

I’m that weirdo who hosts parties and makes sure everyone’s dietary restriction are taken care of. At my wedding we had a vegetarian, me – the type 1 and a type 2 diabetic (my mother inlaw who has insane food restrictions on herself) and I made sure we could eat everything. I had chicken, tilapia, and a meat carving section. Why? Because I have dietary restrictions and have been to several events where I look at the spread and think “I am definitely not eating here today.”

My best friend scoped a baby shower we were at, came over to me and said, “I hope you have a lot of insulin.” Nothing but sweets. She and I ended up looking up caterers for her wedding to find a menu where I could eat everything and not worry. I think she’s taken this whole Michelle has diabetes to heart like so many of my amazing friends. And I love them for it. Despite my 5 year anniversary of diagnosis, this is still pretty new to us.

Leave a Reply

