Snow Cookies

Bryan has some Scottish in him.

While I was looking up traditional English custard, I came across the Scottish equivalent to snowballs. Depending on which website on traditional Scottish things, it is called Snow Cake and is typically seen around Christmas.

Yes, there is a homemade version which is completely different from the processed version. I don’t understand people’s love for processed sweets. Have you looked at the ingredients in that crap? If I can’t pronounce an ingredient then I probably shouldn’t be putting it in my mouth. Besides, why eat crunchy chocolate chip cookie, when you can have gooey warm perfect for dipping in milk straight out of the oven cookies. My father in law loves the processed sweets. I made chocolate chip cake cookies once and he at almost all of it. Any other dessert I’ve made, he won’t touch and he’ll go straight for those stupid Little Debbies.

Typically, snow cake is a layered sweet. The bottom layer is shortbread, followed by raspberry jam, then a layer of cake is placed upon the jam. The cake is then iced and coconut is sprinkled on top. Sounds absolutely scrumptious.

This is an adaption I found. The cookie form.
image

Snow Cookies

Shortbread
2 cups flour
1 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup sugar

Filling
Jam (strawberry, raspberry, cherry) – the high quality jam used, the better everything tastes

Icing
1 cup powdered sugar
1/4 cup milk

1/2 cup coconut

Directions

Cream sugar with the butter. Add flour and mix until dough forms

Over flour a clean surface and a rolling pin. Roll dough until 1/4 inch thick.

Take a biscuit dough cutter that’s 1.5 inches in diameter and cut the dough.

Use a cold metal spatula to remove dough from surface to lined cookie sheet.

Bake at 325 for 8 – 10 minutes. The cookie doesn’t brown. Cool the shortbread.

While short bread is cooling down, mix powdered sugar and milk into a bowl until it has the consistency of glue.

Pour icing into a condiment bottle and ice 40 shortbread cookies. Sprinkle the coconut on top of the icing.

Let the icing firm up for about 5 hours.

Once the icing is firm, take a half spoonful of jam and spread it on top of the rest of the shortbread cookies. Place the iced shortbread on top of the jammed shortbread, icing side up.

Makes 40 jam filled cookie sandwiches. Calories: 92, Carbohydrates: 12 grams, Sugar: 7 grams.

OMG! These cookies where amazing! Everything complimented each other, the shortbread, the jam, the icing, the coconut.

I used extremely high quality European cherry jam. Ironically, this jam uses 1/4 of the sugar normal jam does because it puts more fruit into it. I hate jam, but I love this jam. It doesn’t even taste like jam. It’s like eating fruit in jelly. Also, Bryan hates raspberry jam, so I decided that cherry would go better with the coconut instead of strawberry.

The dough is a bitch to roll out. If it gets warm at all, it sticks to everything. EVERYTHING. I would chill it first, but I was scared it wouldn’t roll. It took me forever to roll this dough out. Be prepared for a messy floured counter. And if you think you’ve floured the counter enough, add more. Make sure the rolling pin is completely covered in flour also. The cold metal spatula is key. If you use a rubber one, the damn cookie will break.

I couldn’t find a cookie or biscuit cutter, so I had to get creative. I ended up measuring 1.5 inches on my arm and marking it. Then I took the caps off of spice jars until I found one that could work. I’m crafty like that.

Other than that, it was a piece of cake.

I think for Christmas, I’ll make the actually Snow Cake. Then I can be all like, new tradition that is old and part of your heritage BryBry. And we will have Scottish and English traditional Christmas desserts!

 

Leave a Reply

