Tortellini Bake – the jar edition

Usually I would take time to make the sauce, but I was lazy.

I decided to catch up on Dexter instead because we finally got internet in the house and now we have Netflix back. No more cables, no more fighting over the internet with the mother inlaw. In fact, I am typing this on my lap right now as we read. I love wireless.

I am way behind on Dexter because a) I didn’t have cable, and b) the husband didn’t like the show.

Next thing I know, it’s 3PM and I have yet to go to the inlaws to have a shower or to town to buy what I need to make the tortellini bake.

So I cheated and bought a jar. However, it was a vegetable medley of pasta sauce.

tortellinibake

Tortellini Bake – the jar edition

1 bag of cheese tortellini
1 pound of ground beef
1 cup of shredded mozzarella
1 jar of vegetable medley pasta sauce
1 can (14oz) Italian diced tomatoes

Directions

Boil water and cook tortellini.

While the tortellini is cooking, brown the beef.

Strain the tortellini and put the tortellini back in the pot. Add beef, pasta sauce, and tomatoes.

Mix until nicely combined and put into a 9 x 13 baking dish. Sprinkle the cheese on top and bake at 350 until cheese is melted.

Makes 8. Calories: 278, Carbohydrates: 27grams, Sugar: 11 grams, Fiber: 4 grams, Protein: 16 grams.

I threw in the diced tomatoes to make it more chunky. And it looks more delicious.

This is the cheating version. It only takes about 30 minutes to make and you don’t have to chop anything. Does it taste as good as the homemade non jar version? I don’t know yet. I’ll have to make the homemade non jar version. However, if you are low on time and find yourself with all the ingredients, go ahead, make it.

And it’s filling. Although it is hard not to go back for seconds.

 

Leave a Reply

