Vanilla Caramel Roasted Pears

Oh kitchen, how I’ve missed thee. I miss doing whatever I want in the kitchen while Mumika is on the computer. She doesn’t talk to me, she doesn’t distract me or make comments like, “Something sure does smell good.” Don’t get me wrong I’m fine with those comments, but not every time I cook. I know it smells good, I wouldn’t be cooking if it didn’t. And I’m a firm believer that if it smells good when you make it, it has to taste good to. When was the last time you ate something absolutely rancid but it smelled good? Exactly.

I missed counter space the most. Mumika’s kitchen is so huge the only time we can use all the counter space is when it’s the holidays. I love having a large prepping area near the stove. I love not having to use a cutting board on the kitchen table where the only way you can cut food is by sitting down or else you’ll be hunched over.

I love Mumika’s kitchen. As stated before, this is my first kitchen. This is where I learned how to cook grilled cheese with my dad, watch him flip pancakes on a Saturday morning, where I would cook Mumika’s recipes and she would get pissed that my food came out better than hers. It’s where all my friends would hang out, where Pamina and I would experiment with our culinary skills, where Bryan and I first started cooking dinner together. There’s a lot of memories in this kitchen. And every time I cook in it, I feel like I am home.

I made a beautiful dinner Sunday complete with dessert.

“What are you making?” Mumika asks.
“Vanilla caramel roasted pears.” I replied.
“Ew.. I don’t like my pears cooked.”
“Too bad. They are being roasted. And you are going to like it.”
“Why are you making that?” I can hear the this is going to be so digusting tone in her voice and it irks me.
“You’re my guinea pig, that’s why.”

When I plated the pears, she’s all, I just want half of one. I’m like I’m not going to half it.

And then she ate her pear and went back for more.

She knows better than to doubt me.

image

Vanilla Caramel Roasted Pears

3 ripe pears, peeled
1 tablespoon of lemon juice
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

Half, remove seeds, core, and stem the pears.

Place cut side down in a baking dish.

Sprinkle lemon juice and then sugar over pear.

Bake at 375 for 27 minutes.

Leaving oven on, take pears out of oven. Caramel should be bubbling.

Mix cream and vanilla. Pour cream around pear and bake for another 12 minutes.

Baste pears with sauce twice while in oven.

Take pears out of the oven and let them cool down. As the pears cool down, the sauce will thicken.

Makes 6. Calories: 145, Carbohydrates: 20 grams, Sugar:15 grams, Fiber:2 grams.

This is AMAZING! Its one of those holy fuck did that just happen moments. This so yummy, you will hum as you chew.

It’s light. Super duper light. And it makes its own sauce. The original recipe called for 3/4 cup of cream, but it makes too much sauce.

You could use the sauce as coffee creamer if you wanted to. Yummy vanilla caramel lattes or what have you.
Even if you don’t like cooked fruit, try it. It will change you’re whole view on cooked fruit. This is definitely one of those life changing moments.

And think how jealous your friends will be when they taste this life changing awesomeness.

Leave a Reply

