Tomato, Corn, Avocado, and Feta Salsa

I love corn.
I LOVE avocado.
Add some tomato and cheese and I will definitely eat it.

I made a version of this a few years ago for Bryan and he loved it. But, there was something missing and I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. As I was perusing through recipes on facebook (something I do on a daily basis), it hits me – let’s add feta to it.

So, I decided to make this version for Mumika.

It went perfect with the steak.

And the color was amazing. I firmly believe in color when it comes to food. Food is like edible art. The more color the better. This salsa is nothing but color. It excites the eyes as much as it does the taste buds.

Its bright. Its fresh. Its freshly bright and brightly fresh. Every thought that goes through your mind becomes a reality with the first bite.

Pair it with the steak and you’re in heaven.

I know I was in food heaven chomping away.

image

Tomato, Corn, Avocado, and Feta Salsa

1 15oz can corn, drained
42 grape tomatoes, halved
1 avocado, cubed
4 oz of feta

Directions

Dump everything into a big bowl and mix until well combined.

Makes 8. Calories: 112, Carbohydrates: 14 grams, Sugar: 3 grams, Fiber: 3 grams, Protein: 5 grams.

This is way too easy to make. Did you see the directions? Its a line, a sentence! You can literally make this in about 5 minutes. Put the steak on the grill and by the time you need to flip the steak *boom* this side is done.

Hell, have your kids make it. This side is a wonderful way to get your kids excited about cooking outside of the let’s makes cookies time.

If your mother is trying to “help” and you want her to leave you alone while you cook, make your mom make this.

It’s a great side. You can pair it with chicken or fish. You could get those tostino’s scoops chip thingys and spoon it into those to make a nice appetizer. You could use it as a taco garnish. The possibilities are endless!

OK, I think I’m getting too excited about this side.

The one thing I love about this side is how the feta takes it to a whole different level texture and flavor wise. You could choose not to add the feta, but then you would have to add salt to congeal the different flavor residue that is the liquid at the bottom. By using the feta, it creates a minor salt component and it soaks up the liquid where all those yummy flavors like to hang out. Therefore making the bright freshness sevenfold.

The feta is that cool teacher all the cool kids like causing them to go to class instead of skipping. Or at least that’s how the movies depict high school life. And the movies never lie to you (I couldn’t even write that sentence with a straight face). So, if you see a lot of liquid at the bottom of the bowl, the yummies are playing hooky. Don’t let the yummies play hooky.

Leave a Reply

