Pancakes – plain, fruit, and chocolate

I love pancakes. Love love love pancakes. Not as much as waffles, but still.

Pancakes is the definition of breakfast. The world would be a sad depressing place if pancakes were never invented. Canadians would be sad because they would have all this maple syrup with nothing to use it on.

Pancakes come in different forms. Crepes. Frozen. Stuffed. Fluffy. Insanely fluffy. Chocolate chips. Chocolate. Fruit. Nutty. Sweet. Savory. Bacon. Nowadays the options and adjectives are endless.

The best time for pancakes is dinner. I don’t know why I love them more as a dinner than a breakfast. I think its the Black Russian Jew in me.

But I have the ultimate recipe of fluffy gluten goodness. They even fluff up before your very eyes. Its like magic. And they taste like cloud heaven. I think pancake is Mayan for cloud.

Pancakes

1 cup flour
2 teaspoons of baking powder
1 cup milk
1 tablespoon sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 tablespoons butter, melted

Directions

Mix dry ingredients in a bowl

Add egg and wet ingredients to bowl.

Mix until there are no lumps.

You should know what to do from here.

If you don’t, well just heat a skillet up, butter the inside and drop desired amount of batter into it.

When there are a lot of holes as the batter rises, flip the pancake with a spatula and let it cook for about two minutes.

Makes 6. Calories: 159, Carbohydrates: 20 grams, Sugar: 4 grams, Protein: 5 grams.

Now for the fun part.

The first time I made these pancakes Mumika was against blueberries. She wanted a plain pancake. So I made her one. After she eats the plain one, she looks at me and tells me she wants a blueberry one. I couldn’t help but smile. Of course she does. Why couldn’t she give in to the blueberry in the first place instead of being a five year old. But this is how she is. She wants it her way first, then she’ll do it your way. You just can’t tell her your way is better. Sounds exactly like a 5 year old doesn’t it.

I made the rest blueberry. Of course she complains how small the pancake is.

“Sit down and eat while I make the last two” She tells me.
“Fine.”
“I’ll show you what a real pancake is supposed to look like.”

Portion control means nothing to this woman. She doesn’t understand that diabetic portions are different from normal portions. I could get into the technicalities, but that’s for a different post.

image

I tried making these pancakes two different ways. A) pour the batter, then add the blueberries. B) put the blueberries in the skillet and then pour the batter over. Doing the B way creates funky looking pancakes. The photo is the B way. Totally funky. But oh so yummy. As you can tell I don’t use syrup. The whole maple syrup on waffles and pancakes is completely lost on me. I used 15 blueberries per pancake. Mumika was laughing at me as I counted out loud. Some eating disorder idiosyncrasies stay with you. Don’t ask me how many slices a banana has to be cut into before I can eat it.

Makes 6. Calories: 186, Carbohydrate: 27 grams, Sugar: 9 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 5 grams.

When I came home from Houston I was still craving pancakes. Its hard to get out of a pancake mindset once your in it. I really didn’t feel like making dinner so I said screw it, let’s make pancakes.

This time it was chocolate chip. I used a total of 1/2 cup of chocolate chips for the six pancakes. I poured the batter, sprinkles some chocolate chips around on top, let it cook for a bit and then flip.

So yummy.

image

Makes 6. Calories: 236, Carbohydrates: 30 grams, Sugar: 12 grams, Protein: 5 grams.

As all pancake and waffle recipes, it is fool proof. If you only have self rising flour, don’t worry. Self rising has baking powder in it so you can omit the baking powder in the recipe. Mumika had only self rising and didn’t have baking powder. It still worked perfectly. Like I said fool proof. And you can add whatever else you like to it.

It is a wee bit on the high carb side, but its better than Denny’s or IHOP.

Perfect way to start or end the day.

One thought on “Pancakes – plain, fruit, and chocolate

  1. Pingback: Pancake Bites | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

