Mushroom Spaghetti with Turkey

I found this recipe on Facebook. Normally I don’t go for cream based sauces due to the carb count. I think its because the one (and only) appointment I had with my nutritionist when I was diagnosed with diabetes made it abundantly clear that cream based sauces were the devil and would kill me. But tomato based was a-okay. This nutritionist liked to strike the fear of death and carbs are the devil into me. Or so it seemed at the time. Doesn’t help that I’m a psych major who took a psychology of food and weight class. I love pasta. Its the Italian in me. This woman told me I could never eat pasta and I told her fuck you, I can and I will.

And I did.

Where was I going with this…cream based sauces.

When I stumbled upon this, it sounded intriguing. But it seemed all complex and not simple so I decided Mumika would get to experience it instead. She had left over turkey to get rid of.

Hence, our Sunday night dinner.

image

Mushroom Spaghetti with Turkey

12 oz of spaghetti
1 cup of mushrooms, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1 tablespoon of olive oil
3 garlic cloves, chopped
1 cup chicken broth
1 1/2 cups heavy cream
2 cups shredded turkey
3 tablespoons cilantro, chopped
Garnish with parmesan cheese and green onions

Directions

Cook the spaghetti

While the spaghetti is cooking, sauté the mushrooms, onions, and garlic in the olive oil until tender.

Pour the chicken broth into pan and bring to a simmer for 5 minutes.

Add the cilantro and simmer for 2 more minutes

Add the cream and simmer for 5 more minutes (simmer is your friend). Toss the spaghetti into the mushroom sauce.

Top with turkey and garnish if you want to.

Makes 8. Calories: 412, Carbohydrate: 35 grams, Sugar: 3 grams, Protein: 23 grams.

Looks yummy right? It was. But the sauce seemed too liquidy when I plated. That was until I mixed the spaghetti with the sauce. The spaghetti absorbs some of the sauce making it perfect.

Mumika felt it lacked flavor. She was also trying to get me to put 5 cloves of garlic in it claiming there’s no such thing as too much garlic. But there is Mumika, there is.

What I loved is how the taste of the mushrooms seemed to penetrate the cream. It was everywhere. And its light. I love light.

There’s a feeling of stroganoff when it hits your lips. But as the different flavors come together in your mouth, it changes to the mushroom béchamel sauce you put on top of chicken friand. I love the complexity, but at the same time it was a tad bland. And I don’t know how to fix it. I could put more mushrooms in it or maybe a clove more of garlic. But I think less cream is better. Maybe a pinch of parsley with the cilantro. Who knows. Either way it was good.

I’m going through an ability to use various proteins with sides. It tastes well with turkey but maybe chicken would have complimented it better. Garnishing with green onions and parmesan helps take away from the blandness. The green onions also adds a crunchy element to this dish.

Or maybe you’ll make it and think it’s fine.

Leave a Reply

