Beef and Bean Enchilada Casserole

You should have seen this post coming.
Usually when I’m in a money bind, I look up casseroles. Casseroles are easy to make, hearty, and don’t put a dent in your grocery budget.

With Bryan having a more physically gruelling job, his hunger has increased a wee bit too much for me. He ate 3/4 of the tortellini bake in one sitting. His new thing is saying “I, hungry” which for some odd reason makes me think of Frankenstein. Well that or the people eating plant thing in Little Shop of Horrors. Feed me.

What used to last three days is now lasting one. It frustrates me because I try to cook every three days that way I’m not stuck at the inlaws using their stove and oven after work.

Sometimes what I consider hearty and filling doesn’t work the same way on Bryan. He’s a man, I’m a woman blah blah blah. Its not that, its more of Bryan only eats one meal a day. This whole one meal a day will change once we have the kitchen done because I’ll be cooking breakfast while he’s in the shower. Ugh. 6am.

Until then, a casserole once a week should suffice. Hopefully.

This recipe should feed 10, but the day I made it I was extra hungry and Bryan was on his I hungry warpath. It lasted two days between the two of us. Sometimes I think we eat like we’ve been starving for days and have no clue where the next meal is.

The casserole called for pinto beans but I used black. Must be a Puerto Rican thing. It called for eight 6 inch corn tortillas, but I used 10. I also added an extra 1/2 pound of meat and 1/2 cup of onion. When I bought the ingredients, I got a white onion instead of a yellow one. And I was in such a rush that I baked it wrong but omg was it good.

Moral of the story – I fucked it up.

If you have a big appetite and can’t cook, or in a rush, or decided directions aren’t for you, or flat out didn’t read the directions, it will still come out yummy and fill you up. Foolproof, stubborn proof, rush proof, huge stomach proof. This is the Mexican casserole of all casseroles. And under $15 to make (depending on whether you buy the enchilada sauce or homemake it) feeding 10 mouths – that $1.50 a serving.

Casseroles – perfect for budgets.

beefbean

Beef and Bean Enchilada Casserole

1 pound ground beef
1 cup onion
4 oz can green chilies
15 oz can black beans, drained
10 corn tortillas
2 cups enchilada sauce (homemade)
8 oz sour cream
1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin
2 tablespoons flour
2 cups shredded Mexican cheese blend

Directions

In a large skillet, brown meat with onions.

When onions are tender add cumin, chili powder and salt.

Keep skillet on medium heat and add the beans and green chilies. Stir until completely combined. Cook for 2 minutes.

In a small bowl mix flour, garlic salt, sour cream until combined.

Lay down 5 corn tortillas in a 9×13 baking dish. Pour 1/2 the meat and bean mixture on top of the tortillas, spoon half of the sour cream mixture on top of the meat, pour half of the enchilada sauce on top of the sour cream. Do the layers once more, cover with tin foil and bake at 350 for 40 minutes. Take the casserole 5 minutes before being done, remove the tin foil, sprinkle with cheese and pop it back into the oven.

Makes 10. Calories: 371, Carbohydrates: 26 grams, Sugar: 6 grams, Fiber: 4 grams, Protein: 23 grams.

I know what you’re thinking – How on earth did you make it wrong? I forgot the tin foil.

If you forget the tin foil, bake for 20 minutes, sprinkle with cheese, cover with tin and let the cheese melt. Problem solved.

I ended up tasting the beef and bean mixture and holy cow balls batman, add some rice and we are good to go.

And yes, it was quite yummy.

Leave a Reply

