A dia-versary and Preacher Cake

5 years ago today I was diagnosed with diabetes. I remember looking at my endo and saying, ” If I dilute my blood sugar with lots a water, it will go away right?” “It doesn’t quite work that way” he replied.

Everyone remembers the day they were diagnosed and the drama that went with it.

One major thing I learned was how amazing Bryan is and how much he truly loves me. He was in the waiting room hands on his forehead when they finally released me. When I walked into his arms crying, I told him it was okay if he didn’t want me because I was damaged goods. He laughed, told me I wasn’t damaged and he wasn’t going to leave me. If I was with any other guy, I’m pretty sure they would would have taken the out I gave him.

How am I going to celebrate this major milestone? With cake of course! I decided to make a preacher cake.

Supposedly back in the day, this is the cake you would make if your preacher surprised you with a dinner visit. Women would whip it up in a flash and be all why thank you for visiting us for dinner, would you like some cake before you leave.

My question is since when was it societally acceptable for preachers to call unexpectedly? Seriously! Were they at one of flock’s houses and thought well Judy is a street down I’ll mosey on over there for dinner. And the only warning you get is from Mary when the preacher leaves her house calling to warn you.

This cake is interesting. Allergic to dairy? No problem. There isn’t any milk or butter. And everything is in twos. My big problem is the 2 cups of sugar. Screw that, I’ll put maybe a cup. Why? Pineapple is sweet and the juice is sweet so why so much sugar. I bet they were trying to give their preacher diabetes for coming unexpectedly. You know sugar caused diabetes back then.

Also I hated the cream cheese frosting recipe that went with it. 2 cups of powdered sugar, 1/2 cup of butter, a cup of cream cheese. Oh no no no, that won’t do at all. I’ll have to find a completely different recipe for the frosting. And I did. Its all about tweaking. Especially on dia-versary day.

image Preacher Cake
2 cups flour
3/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3/4 cup ground walnuts
20 oz can of crushed pineapple (do not drain)

Directions

In a large bowl mix the dry ingredients together.

Add rest of ingredients one by one.

Mix by hand until fully combined. Pour batter into a greased (with cooking spray) 9×13 cake tin. Bake at 350° for 30 – 40 minutes.

Makes 20. Without the cream cheese frosting. Calories: 125, Carbohydrates: 21grams, Sugar: 10 grams, Protein: 3 grams.

With the cream cheese frosting. Calories: 188, Carbohydrates: 28 grams, Sugar: 16 grams, Protein: 4 grams.

This cake is amazing with or without the frosting. It has pockets of sunshine tropical goodness and nuttiness baked in.

It’s easy to make, I whipped it up in 5 minutes and made the frosting while the cake baked. I couldn’t wait for the cake to cool to eat or to frost. My mother inlaw couldn’t wait either. This is what happens when you get two diabetics together waiting for a cake.

I can’t imagine this cake with 2 cups of sugar. It would be so sweet you’re teeth would hurt.

Based on what I read about the frosting, I’m happy I found a different one. This cake has the potential to be deadly if made the original way.

It says a lot about the cake if the recipe has lasted decades. It was definitely a product of a simpler times, a time of innocence. Then again, have you seen the shit people used to eat back then? Pineapples made of liver pate. Fish locked inside gelatin. It was more than champagne dreams and caviar wishes. But you couldn’t feed that to your preacher could you? A simple dessert for a simple man who lands on your doorstep unexpectedly.

Leave a Reply

