Beef Stroganoff

I haven’t had beef stroganoff in years. It wasn’t one of those family favorites in my household growing up.

I think it was the use of cream of mushroom soup that had us look the other way. Actually, looking back we hardly made meals that called for condensed or cream soup.

Which I probably why I scoured the inter webs looking for a non cream of mushroom soup recipe. I could go as far to say that my upbringing (food wise) is why I like to make everything from scratch.

Mumika used to make homemade bread without a bread maker back when she was a housewife. Best bread I have ever had.

After 30 recipes, I finally found one that did not use cream of mushroom soup but uses sour cream. I’m not a fan of sour cream but whatever.

I made the stroganoff using two different sides – the traditional egg yolk noodles and also mashed potatoes. If I’m going to test out a recipe, I’m going to do it right. I would have cooked rice also but I didn’t know how long it would last. I keep forgetting my father inlaw won’t touch my cooking even if a ten foot pole was an option.

In the end, even though I slow cooked at the in laws, Bryan had me take everything home and it lasted 3 days.

image

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

2.25 pounds of lean stew meat
1 cup of mushrooms, sliced
1 onion, sliced
2 cloves garlic, sliced
1 cup beef broth
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup sour cream
2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
2 tablespoon flour
1/2 teaspoon paprika
3 oz cream cheese, cubed

Directions

Brown stew meat and spoon the meat in the slow cooker.

Leaving the liquid from the meat (the fat) in the pan, sauté mushrooms, onions, and garlic until tender.

Add beef broth to deglaze pan and make sure you scrape up the yummies attached to the pan.

Pour the sauteed veggies that are deglazed into the slow cooker. Add salt and pepper and give it a stir.

Cook on high for 4 hours or on low for 7 hours.

15 minutes before being fully cooked, mix the cream cheese, sour cream, paprika, Dijon mustard, and flour in a small bowl.

Pour sour cream mixture into the slow cooker and stir until cream cheese melts.

Cook on low for 15 minutes.

You can make mashed potatoes, rice, or noodles while you wait.

Makes 10. Calories: 259,Carbohydrate: 8 grams ,Sugar: 4 grams, Protein: 33 grams.

WITH Noodles. Calories: 347, Carbohydrates: 24 grams, Sugar: 4 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 36 grams.

WITH Mashed Potatoes. Calories: 400, Carbohydrates: 23 grams, Sugar: 6 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 35 grams.

I haven’t had beef stroganoff in years. In my first bite I realized why – I really really hate beef stroganoff.

For most people, it’s the egg yolk noodles, but it’s the beef and how’s it made that leaves a horrible taste in my mouth. I immediately thought, oh lord, what a waste in premium beef. Luckily, my husband love it. It tastes better with the mashed potatoes.

Hence, why there is three nutritional values. Unfortunately the mashed potatoes equal more calories. And to think it’s all homemade.

You could use rice or some grain instead of the potatoes or the noodles. It’s all about which way you want to eat it or which is your favorite. Either way, I’m not going to eat this for another 10 years.

2 thoughts on “Beef Stroganoff

Leave a Reply

