Dark Chocolate Brownie

I love brownies.

Love them.

My sister inlaw made these amazing butterscotch brownies about a month ago that were OMG these are better than fucking sex brownies. But Oh.My.God. did they make me sick later. I should know better, but honestly, sometime I think I don’t.

When I asked her how she made them, she told me it was a box mix and that she added butterscotch chips.

So I figured I would find a brownie from scratch recipe and put butterscotch chips in the batter. I was wrong.

The chips never melted.

The second time I attempted this I thought, maybe if I melt the butterscotch and swirl it in the batter it would come out. But I somehow scorched the chips melting them in the microwave.

The look of burned butterscotch is horrible but not as horrible as the smell. Needless to say, I’m not ready for a third attempt.

However, I did notice all brownies come from the same basic recipe. I decided to use dark chocolate instead and half the sugar requirement. Maybe one day I’ll get creative with what I put in them.

Until then…..dark chocolate brownies it is.

image

Dark Chocolate Brownies

1/2 cup flour
1/3 cup dark chocolate cocoa powder
2 eggs
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions

In a medium bowl combine melted butter and cocoa and stir until cocoa is dissolved

Add sugar and mix well.

Add eggs one at a time and stir until well combined.

Stir in vanilla, flour and salt until you no longer see any flour.

Spray an 8 inch baking tin with cooking spray and pour the batter in.

Bake at 325 for 25 minutes. DO NOT OVER BAKE.

Makes 12. Calories: 111, Carbohydrates: 14 grams, Sugar: 8 grams, Protein: 2 grams.

I live for dark chocolate.

If you decide to add marshmallows, chocolate chips, nuts, cherries, caramel syrup, or something to the effect, please keep in mind the nutritional value goes up.

And these aren’t tiny squares when I said 12. They are those huge squares you dream about in you’re sleep when you were a child. You could cut them into 16 squares, but I found them to be a little too small. I ate like 3 the first time I made it without blinking an eye. But if you choose to cut 12 squares, the eye tricks the mind into thinking Oh my god, this is so huge, there is no way I could eat two. And then you out trick your mind by cutting on of the squares into half after you eat the first one but that’s besides the point.

Food portions are all psychological. But that’s for a later post.

 

Leave a Reply

