Sausage, Spinach, and Bean soup

Every so often I make it into the HEB two towns over on my way home in time to try a random recipe they are featuring that day.

Half the time I can’t use the recipe because I don’t like it, has something in it like cream of _____ soup, too many frozen components or its lackluster. Basically these little samples are to showcase the HEB product.

But a week ago, I tried this soup and it was really good. Add extremely cold weather into the equation and you have an amazing meal that will warm you up on an icy winter day.

I decided to make my own version of pico that way I wouldn’t have to pay $3.59 for it. I also used navy beans instead of white kidney beans.

I took a gamble with this recipe because Bryan hates pale beans but luckily it was flavorful enough for him to disregard the use of white colored beans.

I decided to use the crockpot instead of the stove because well, we still don’t have one and I was not in the mood to stay at the in laws waiting for the soup to be ready.

While I was cooking the components of the soup, my father in law decided to talk to one of his daughters via speakerphone. I listened to their conversation for about 45 minutes and was slightly annoyed. I get it, its his house, but still. The lack of manners this family has astounds me sometimes. Then I remind myself I was raised on English etiquette which has extremely high standards. In reality, I’m probably the one with the problem, not my in laws.

image

Sausage, Spinach and Beans Soup

1 pound ground pork sausage
12 oz of pico de gallo (homemade)
6 garlic cloves, diced
2 cans of Navy beans
32 oz of chicken broth
1 bag (9 oz) spinach
parmesan cheese as garnish

Directions

Brown sausage, drain, and put in a soup pot or a slow cooker.

Add pico de gallo to a skillet over medium heat and sauté for 5 minutes.

Add 1 can of beans and 1 cup of the chicken broth to the pico de gallo. Heat mixture for a bit and then mash the mixture until it has a chunky paste look to it. Add mashed mixture to the soup pot or slow cooker.

Pour remaining broth and can of drained beans to the soup pot or slow cooker.

Soup pot: Bring pot to boil and then reduce to a simmer for 15 minutes uncovered. Stir in spinach and remove from heat. Garnish bowls with parmesan cheese.

Slow cooker: Set slow cooker to high for 1 hour. Stir in spinach and reduce to low. Serve when spinach is full incorporated into the soup. Garnish bowls with parmesan cheese.

Makes 8. Calories: 338, Carbohydrates: 20 grams, Sugar: 2 grams, Fiber: 7 grams, Protein: 22 grams.

Holy fuck, did you see the fiber?!?!?!?

This soup is phefuckingnomenal. We had French bread with it and I love how amazing the bread tastes when it soaked the broth up.

You can use ground beef instead of sausage. Might taste better, especially if you don’t like sausage.

The parmesan cheese as garnish elevates the flavor and cools the heat from the jalapeno in the pico. It’s not hot but there is definitely a pleasant kick to it.

This soup is definitely one of those when did it get so cold I need something to heat me up soups. And the best part is you can slow cook it or stove top it. I love options.

One thought on “Sausage, Spinach, and Bean soup

Leave a Reply

