Salsa

The superbowl is coming. Might as well devote a few posts to those awesome dips everyone loves to eat at parties.

Salsa. It’s a dip, a condiment, and a dance.

I really hate those blended versions of salsa. I hate the in a jar version. If it’s not fresh, I will not eat it. I never eat it at Mexican restaurants. I usually eat the green sauce with my tortilla chips.

I wasn’t always this way. It’s Mumika’s fault. She introduced me to her version of Salsa. She claims it’s the Puerto Rican version, but what ever. After you make this, you will swear off those blended made in new York city jar, huge plastic bottle versions.

salsa

Salsa

3 tomatoes, diced
1 onion, diced
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper

Directions

Put everything in a bowl and mix it until well combined.

Makes 3 cups. Calories: 136, Carbohydrates: 31 grams, Sugar: 16 grams, Fiber: 8 grams, Protein: 5 grams.

I’ve come to the conclusion that although it may be a little sugary, tomatoes are also full of fiber.

I love putting this salsa on everything. And I love the juices at the bottom. They are so flavorful, you could dip tortilla chips in them. Hell, pour it over some chicken or beef to add some amazing flavor as a thin gravy. You know those yummies I talked about in the tomato, corn, avocado salsa…same thing. What you could do is save the tomato juice and create a vinaigrette with it or infuse plain feta with it.

And trust me, you will eat the 3 cups this makes all by yourself and you won’t feel guilty over it. Ever ate a whole jar of salsa, me neither, but I will go through this salsa like it’s the end of the world.

Whatever you do, do not use roma tomatoes, it doesn’t come out right. Use those big normal tomatoes. And do not throw out the yummies. Do not waste those yummies. Stick the juice in a container until you think of something totally awesome to do with it.

One thought on “Salsa

  1. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 02/15/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

