Meatballs

I’ve never been a big meatball person. And I definitely hate frozen meatballs.

One day Bryan came home with frozen meatballs thinking it was a skillet dinner (the picture on the bag was misleading) and I had to scramble to thin of something to do with them. Even though I came across an awesome pesto alfredo pasta recipe, I still hated the dish.

Bryan likes meatballs, but I don’t like how he makes them either. The man seriously over seasons everything.

Every once in a blue moon, I get a small hankering for them. Only problem is, if you don’t like frozen, what do you do?

Make your own recipe.

I took the same approach to these as I do when I make homemade meatloaf or hamburgers. Bread crumbs are your friend.

I do not use egg as a binding agent. You can use dehydrated onions instead of dicing up an onion. Saves time, effort, and tears. That and the dehydrated onions plump up in the cooking process.

You can make the meatballs in advance and freeze them. Or make a day in advance and refrigerate them.

And you can put them in any recipe. Use them as appetizers. They really are quite versatile.

meatballs

Meatballs

1 pound ground beef
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon onion powder
1 tablespoon parsley
1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
4 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
3 tablespoons bread crumbs

Directions

Put a pound of ground beef in a bowl.

Add seasonings and combine using hands.

Separate beef mixture into 20 segments. Roll segments into balls.

Use in whatever recipe you choose. Or bake in oven at 350 for 25 minutes.

Makes 20 meatballs. Per meatball. Calories: 72, Carbohydrates:  2 grams, Sugar: 1 gram, Protein: 6 grams.

I love these meatballs. Maybe it’s because I made it off the top of my head.

Actually it’s the use of Worcestershire sauce. It just hits a flavor beyond anything that’s processed and frozen.

However, I have plans for these meatballs on Superbowl Sunday. Can’t watch the superbowl without guacamole or meatballs in some form, it’s an American tradition.

2 thoughts on “Meatballs

  1. Pingback: Hawaiian Meatballs and Rice | The DIABETIC Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Mac and Cheese Stuffed Meatballs | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

