Hawaiian Meatballs and Rice

It’s the Superbowl. The most important sports game in America. The most watched sports game in America.

And of course, there’s superbowl food. Meatballs in some sort of form is one of those food.

I originally wanted to do sweet and sour meatballs, but the appearance of grape jelly in every recipe put a ew really taste in my mouth. I’m am not a fan of grape jelly in anything. I don’t like jelly period. Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches were not a staple in my house growing up.

I used the meatball recipe from earlier for the meatballs. We all know the frozen is as nasty as frozen egg whites. Most of the Hawaiian Meatball recipes I found contained bbq sauce which I found beguiling. I get it, people want good food they can whip up in a jiffy meaning cutting corners like using cream of mushroom soup or bbq sauce or frozen meatballs. It means I have to go through scores of recipes to find something that remotely fits my dietary needs. Thank god for the internet.

As usual I cut down the sugar because of the use of pineapples and pineapple juice. I also added some onions for extra flavor.

I love the fact that this is a slow cooker recipe. Just toss everything in the slow cooker, wait 2 hours, put the rice in the rice cooker 30 minutes before the meatballs are done, and *boom* a meal has come together practically out of thin air.

hawaiian meatballs

Hawaiian Meatballs and Rice

20 meatballs (Homemade)
20 oz can of pineapple chunks (reserve the juice)
1 green bell pepper, diced
1/2 a cup of onion, diced
2 tablespoons of cornstarch
2 tablespoons of soy sauce
1/2 cup brown sugar
2/3 cup white vinegar
2 cups cooked rice

Directions

Place 20 meatball at the bottom of a slow cooker

Drain pineapple juice into small bowl.

Place pineapple, green bell pepper, and onion over the meatballs.

Add cornstarch, soy sauce, white vinegar, and brown sugar into the small bowl containing the pineapple juice. Whisk until completely combined.

Pour pineapple juice mixture over the meatballs.

Cook on high for 3 hours.

30 minutes before the meatballs are done cook the white rice.

Makes 6 servings.Calories: 457, Carbohydrates: 57 grams, Sugar: 32 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 23 grams.

This is high in everything despite the tweak. So please make this occasionally.

I really loved this dish. The sweetness, tanginess, sourness is amazing. Its better than any sweet and sour dish I have ever tried. In fact, you can use the base components as a sweet and sour recipe. This would work with chicken or pork. And you wouldn’t have to go out looking for sweet and sour sauce because you make your own.

Despite watching a horrible game, mediocre commercials, an alright halftime performance, at least I had good food.

That and I love anything with pineapple in it.

Leave a Reply

