Pot Roast with Carrots and Potatoes

I’ve had the stomach flu since Thursday. With it, came the inability nor the want to cook. However, one of Bryan’s friends came over for moral support as we attempt to move forward with the house so I made a home cooked meal.

More like a slow cooked meal but considering my state physically – the oven at the in laws would not be my friend.

That and I’ve been wanting a pot roast.

There’s just something about pot roast that makes everything okay, that all will be right with the world. Add potatoes and carrots, I’m in heaven.

potroast

Pot Roast with potatoes and carrots

2 pound boneless beef chuck
2 tablespoons paprika
2 tablespoon garlic powder
2 tablespoon onion powder
1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
1/2 onion, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
5 medium carrots, sliced
3 potatoes, cubed
14 oz can of beef broth

Direction

In a small dish combine the seasonings. Rub all over the hunk of meat.

Place meat in slow cooker.

Sprinkle garlic over meat. Sprinkle onions over meat and put the rest of the onions at the bottom of the slow cooker.

Place carrots on either side of the meat and on top of the onions on the bottom of the slow cooker. Then put the potatoes on top of the carrots.

Pour beef broth over the potatoes and carrots.

Turn the slow cooker on high and cook for 3 hours.

Makes 6. Calories: 539, Carbohydrates: 32 grams, Sugar: 7 grams, Fiber: 6 grams, Protein: 38 grams.

This roast smells amazing. The homey goodness is in every bite. The potatoes are tender, the carrots mushy. Perfection. And quite filling on top of that. Actually, I live for mushy carrots. I don’t know why, but it’s the only way to eat carrots.

After I ate it, I definitely felt like myself. Pot roast, the cure to the stomach flu. Next time, when I have an oven, I’ll have to make it the normal way, but for now, a slow cooker will do.

Leave a Reply

