Lemon Kissed Cheesecake

I wanted to make something special for Valentine’s day. Originally I was going to make a chocolate covered strawberry heart cake with a strawberry cream cheese filling and a cream cheese frosting. I was even going to make it look like a sweetheart and write Be Mine on it or something.

Then I remembered I have work and I don’t feel like spending that much time at the in laws, so the question became what to make. Bryan said something about cheesecake the week before and I thought, “challenge accepted”.

A cheesecake you can make in the slow cooker? What.the.fuck. Is that even possible?

After some research, turns out it’s pretty easy. Basically you use the slow cooker as a water bath like a dish you put in the oven filled with water with the bread pudding ramekins in it. If this works, it will open up a whole new world for the slow cooker. I could make bread pudding, soufflés, crème brulee, and what have you. Elegant cooking in slow cooker form. Love it!

I decided to do a lemon cheesecake, or rather a lemon essence cheesecake. You know when you taste something and a flavor lightly tingles your tastebuds. That’s the idea I had behind it.

There’s a about a bazillion cheesecake recipes out there. Some require vanilla extract, sour cream, heavy cream, amoung other things. I decided to do it easy. And to make my own crust.

All the recipes I came across called for 1 cup or more of sugar. Fuck that shit. Let’s go with 1/2 a cup. After all, cheesecake should be a light delight and not a overbearingly sugary. Also, I felt using a whole lemon would give it too much of a lemon flavor. I wanted a light playful lemon flavor and not a arrrrrgh I’m lemon and I’m going to bash your tastebuds into submission lemon flavor. Lemon kissed. Lemon Kissed Cheesecake – I like how that sounds.

Another reason why I picked cheesecake is because I heard somewhere that out of all the sweets that be created, the best for a diabetic with a sweet tooth (which is all diabetics, we crave sugar) is cheesecake. Not as much sugar therefore go for them. But if all the recipes I’m looking at have 1 cup to 1.5 cups of sugar in it, how exactly is that good for you?
image

Lemon Kissed Cheesecake

Filling
2 8oz blocks of cream cheese, softened
1/2 lemon, juiced and zested
1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs

Graham Cracker Crust

6 graham cracker sheets
4 tablespoon butter, melted

Directions

In a bowl get a glass and crush the graham crackers. Crush them and crush them, Crush them into smithereens.

In a microwavable container, melt the butter. Pour the butter into the bowl where you massacred the graham crackers and mix with your hands until wet. That’s right, we’re getting down and dirty.

Press the graham cracker into a sprayed graham cracker dish.

In a medium bowl, mix together your filling ingredients using a hand mixer. Mix until it is nice and smooth.

Pour filling over the graham cracker crust.

Pour a cup or two of water into the slow cooker and slowly place your cheesecake into the water. DO NOT GET WATER INTO THE CHEESECAKE! It will float and not touch the bottom of the slow cooker.

image

Cover the slow cooker and cook on HIGH for 2 hours. The sides should be golden and not shiny. You’re looking for a matte finish.

image

Turn the slow cooker off and leave the cheesecake in there for an hour to cool down uncovered. Then chill for 4 hours in the fridge

Makes 10. Calories: 287, Carbohydrates: 20 grams, Sugar: 14 grams, Protein: 5 grams.

I posted more pics for this recipe so you could understand the process and what it looks like when its done.

This is AMAZING! It is literally lemon kissed. The lightness is perfect. There isn’t an over abundance of cheesecake to the graham cracker crust. I really hate it when the cheesecake is 7 times higher than the crust. It’s like putting more frosting on a cupcake than there is cupcake.

A few tips. Cooking spray is your friend. The crust will stick making it impossible to come out without being destroyed. Also, lightly press the crust. DO NOT MIX BY YOUR OWN HAND! It will take an hour and these smoothness cheesecake is known for will not exist. I didn’t have a hand mixer so I am literally saying from experience. It still came out amazing despite these minor problems.

I can’t believe I made this in slow cooker. Absolutely insane.

A little goes a long way. I’ve been eating small slices and it’s enough. This isn’t one of those, 20 minutes later you go back for more kind of desserts.

One thought on “Lemon Kissed Cheesecake

  1. Pingback: Millionaire Pie | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

