The British are coming…menu

My cousin’s husband is going to be stateside this weekend. His mum lives in Texas as well and all I’ve heard so far is something about being in town to celebrate his mum’s birthday. So based on what I’ve been told, he will be visiting Mumika next weekend when he flies in.

This is a big deal for Mumika and me. A) I haven’t seen Dad’s side of the family since is was 13 (despite the fact that I’ve been to England three times since that visit), B) I haven’t seen D since I was 10 and it was due to a death in the family, and C) No one from Dad’s side has visited since Dad’s funeral (January 1992). I rarely see either side of the family anyway thanks to the fact that we all live so far away from each other. This is a really big deal. Not to mention that I feel that D is pretty much the bridge between me and the family.

Which means, I’m driving to Mumika’s after work on Saturday and leaving her house on Monday. I’m not telling any of my people that I’ll be in town because it’s for such a short period of time and I don’t have enough nights to see everyone.

And…..

I have created a menu for my time there.

Sunday Morning: Blueberry French Toast Bake
Sunday Lunch: BLTAC with Oven Baked Sweet Potato Fries
Sunday Dinner: Smothered Chicken Casserole with a Chocolate Torte for dessert.
Monday Morning: Fried Baby Bananas with Egg baked in an avocado. I was going to do sunny side up eggs, but this sounds more interesting.

Yeah. Sounds amazing already. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. And I’ll be making a homemade Caesar dressing for the smothered chicken casserole without using mayo or anchovies.

 

Leave a Reply

