Jap Chae – Korean glass noodles with ground beef

Sometimes I’m in an ethnic mood. I’ve been on a Thai kick lately, but then I came across this recipe. I sort of reminded me of the Korean place in Houston I used to go to with Mumika after she got her haircut.

Jap Chae or Korean glass noodles. It’s full of veggies. Spinach. Mushroom. Onion. Carrots. Garlic. Add a protein and it’s the perfect meal.

Korean food is probably one of the most healthiest of the Asian food. Every meal is full of veggies with a carb and a meat. I love it.

This is the first time I’ve ever made Korean food. When I told my husband about it he gave me the one eyebrow up with an unsure, “Ok..”

image

Jap Chae or Korean glass noodles with ground beef

8 oz Korean glass noodles
1 cup mushrooms, sliced
1 cup carrots, matchsticks
3/4 cup onion, sliced
3 green onions, cut 1 inch
2 cloves garlic, chopped
9 oz spinach
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1 pound ground beef

sauce:
2 tablespoon sesame oil
2 teaspoon sugar
1 tablespoon sesame seed

Direction

Brown meat and drain fat. Put in bowl and set aside.

Boil water. Add the Korean glass noodles to water. Boil for 5 minutes. Drain in colander and rinse with cold water. Cut noodles to be 8 inches in length and mix in 1 tablespoon of sesame oil. This way the noodles will not stick.

In a small dish mix soy sauce, sesame seeds, and sugar until well combined. Set aside.

In a sauté pan on medium heat, pour vegetable oil. When oil is hot add carrots and onions. Cook until soft.

Add spinach, cook until wilted.

Add green onions, mushrooms, and garlic. Cook until tender.

Add noodles and sauce to saucepan. Mix until well combined under medium heat. Remove from heat, pour noodle mix into a big microwavable container with the ground beef and sesame oil and mix until combined. Sprinkle more sesame seeds on top.

Makes 6. Calories: 324, Carbohydrates: 13 grams, Sugar: 7 grams, Fiber: 3 grams, Protein: 13 grams.

OMG, this was yummy.

You can find the Korean glass noodles in an Asian Mart. Look for the package that says sweet potato starch. I decided to soy sauce, sesame oil, hosin sauce, and fish sauce while I was there. I plan on making thai food sometime next week.

Turns out Bryan isn’t keen on rice or korean glass noodles. But he didn’t tell me anything so it’s his fault. He had one bowl and called it quits. On the brighterside, more for me and he’s finally eating the hotdogs he bought before they go bad. Only problem is now I have to cook tomorrow. Grrrr…..

I was happy with the result and it was so easy to make. It took me like 30 minutes tops.

Leave a Reply

