Caesar Vinaigrette

I love Caesar dressing.

But then I found out there were anchovies in it and the thought of fish turns it repulsive. I get the same feeling when I really start thinking about fish sauce for my grilled pork with vermicelli that I love dearly at the Vietnamese place near Mumika’s house.

Then I came across a recipe requiring Caesar dressing and decided to make my own. I have to reasons for this. A) I didn’t feel like looking at every nutrition value of every bottle of Caesar dressing I could find at the grocery store. B) I didn’t want anything with mayo or anchovies in it.

Then I realized this whole process would be easier if I turned it into a vinaigrette. So that’s what I did.

caesarvin

Caesar Vinaigrette

2  tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1  tablespoon lemon juice
1  small garlic clove, minced
1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1/8 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
2  tablespoons grated parmesan cheese

Directions

In a medium bowl, whisk until fully combined all the ingredients except the parmesan cheese.

Gently fold in parmesan cheese and stir until mixture is well combined.

makes 1/2 cup. Calories: 298, Carbohydrates: 3 grams, Protein: 5 grams.

Wow. This vinaigrette packs a punch. Wham bam thank you ma’am. Damn. It’s so tangy that you forget there aren’t anchovies in it. They say a true Caesar dressing is one with anchovies in it but as long as the taste is there, who the hell cares what’s in it.

Besides, I hate anchovies. I hate fish. I hate seafood. Worcestershire sauce is made with anchovies, so ha! There is a bit of the Caesar requirement in there. Only a bit. Not really an over abundance. In reality, you only want a hint of it anyways.

And….this is quite healthy. There’s no fish, no mayo, just a bit of olive oil with other seasonings. I suppose if you want to make it creamy, you could add greek yogurt instead of mayo into it until you find the consistency you like. But you might just stay with this and think, why would I ever want a creamy version. Not to mention creamy versions of anything are riddled with carbs, fat, and calories.

One thought on “Caesar Vinaigrette

  1. Pingback: Smothered Chicken Casserole | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

