Sweet Potato Fries

I love anything sweet potato.

I still remember when I first tried sweet potatoes fries. I was in Maui for Bryan and my honeymoon waiting for the boat for the snorkeling session we paid for to come in. In reality, we didn’t know what food the boat was going to provide so we felt we should eat before we boarded in case the food sucked. That and it would stop me from going low.

Sweet potato fries was on the menu as an appetizer so I ordered it. It was a huge portion of fries and I took the first one from the top. The minute it touched my tastebuds, I was in love. The second one I dipped into honey (before I knew honey was the devil). I didn’t like it that much. The third one I dipped into ketchup and fell in love all over again.

And so began my love affair with all things sweet potato. Sweet potato hash. Sweet potato fries. Sweet potato chips. Not to mention, it lowers my blood sugar naturally. How can I not love it. It’s good for you, it’s a healthy alternative to the potato, and it lowers blood sugar. Sweet potatoes are the super starch for diabetics.
image

Sweet Potato Fries

1 large sweet potato
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon paprika

Directions

Cut sweet potato in half and then julienne.

Put the sweet potato fries into a large bowl. Add olive oil, garlic powder, and paprika to the bowl. Mix everything in the bowl together until the sweet potatoes are nicely coated.

Place the fries onto a cookie sheet. Spread the fries out and make sure they are all on the cookie sheet and not on top of each other.

Bake at 350 for 12 minutes. Take the cookie sheet out and flip the fries over. Place back into oven and bake for 15 minutes.

makes enough for 3 people. Calories: 137, Carbohydrates: 13 grams, Fiber: 2 gram, Protein: 1 gram.

I love oven baked fries. They are as crispy as fried fries. When you make anything oven baked, you cut the grease, carbs, and calories out of the fries. Not the mention you are using a healthy oil instead of canola or vegetable oil. Of course you could fry these fries using peanut oil or coconut oil, but that can get expensive. So, if you are low on money or choose not to buy expensive oil this is the perfect recipe for you.

Welcome to healthy awesomeness.

Leave a Reply

