Blueberry French Toast Bake

I’ve never been big on french toast. The maple syrup poured over it always made me reconsider it. I hate maple syrup. HATE IT. Most people use maple syrup on waffles and pancakes, I use sugar and whipped cream.

Maple syrup is pretty much sugar on steroids. In order to substitute sugar when maple syrup is used in a recipe you have to use 1 1/3 cup of packed brown sugar for every cup of maple syrup. That’s like 2 or more cups of bloody sugar!

I’m going somewhere with this, I promise.

9 out of 10 french toast bake recipes I came across had maple syrup in it. What.the.Hell!!!!

Then they wanted 12 bloody eggs or 2 bloody blocks of cream cheese. And you still have fruit to consider.

Fuck that shit!

Using two recipes as guidlines, I came up with my own recipe. I did forget to make the blueberry sauce, but honestly, it didn’t need it.

I also cut the cream cheese down to 6 ounces and reduced the eggs to 4.

image

Blueberry French Toast Bake

3/4 loaf french bread, cubed
6 oz cream cheese, tiny cubes
2 cups blueberries
4 eggs
1 cup milk
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

Spray ceramic casserole dish with cooking spray.

Place half of cubed bread in dish. Pack and smush bread if needed. No holes.

Sprinkle cream cheese over bread and blueberries over cream cheese.

Place rest of bread cubes over the blueberries and cream cheese.

In a medium bowl whisk eggs. Add milk sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon.

Pour egg mixture over bread evenly.

Cover casserole dish with plastic wrap and put in fridge to allow the bread to soak up egg mixture over night.

In the morning, remove plastic wrap and pop into the oven baking at °350 for 25 minutes.

Makes 10. Calories: 238, Carbohydrates: 32 grams, Sugar: 10 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 8 grams.

There are two great things about this brunchy I really don’t feel like making french toast but look like I slaved over this here stove dish – you make it the night before and in the morning just pop it in the oven and cook it while you are in the shower. And….it takes mere minutes to make.

I didn’t use a full loaf of bread, more like 3/4ths. But I also put it in a smaller dish and it still managed to serve 8. Well it was really three of us and we all went in for more. It was that good.

Probably helped that I put 2 cups of blueberries instead of 1 cup. There is no such thing as too many blueberries.

What I would do next time is cut the cream cheese into tiny cubes so that it will fully melt.

The tablespoon of vanilla was a pleasant addition creating a harmonious balance between the egg batter and the cream cheese.

I might make a banana foster version next time.

Leave a Reply

