Tortellini Primavera

Sometimes you just have to create your own recipe because that’s all you can think about.

I wanted tortellini but I didn’t feel like doing a meat bake. And then it hit me, a twist on primavera pasta. A shitload of veggies and cheese tortellini. Hells to the yeah!

Besides, you can’t fuck up cheese tortellini with a shit ton of veggies. It’s just not possible. I wasn’t even really thinking when I created recipe. I was all hmmm….what’s in my fridge – carrots, onion, spinach. As I walked around in the produce area I was like that looks good, and we should definitely get this. And then I made it.

It is a tomato based because let’s face it, I only do cream based at Mumika’s house. That and I like tomato based more. The acidity of the tomatoes is rather pleasant on my palate.

This is what happens when I get something in my head and I can’t shake it until I’ve made it.

image

Tortellini Primavera

1 19 oz bag of cheese tortellini
1 squash, halved and sliced
1 zucchini, halved and sliced
1 red pepper, deseeded and diced
1 cup carrots, julienne
4 oz spinach
1 cup onion, diced
1/2 cup parmesan
15 oz can crushed tomatoes
15 oz can tomato sauce
1 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded

Directions

There are 2 different ways to make this

Slow cooker:
Dump everything except the spinach and mozzarella cheese. Give it a stir or two.

Cook on high for 3 hours or until the veggies are tender.

15 minutes before the meal is done cooking, add the spinach and mozzarella cheese. Stir a little bit and continue cooking covered.

Oven:
Sauté veggies in a pan. Cook until tender.

Add the tomato sauce, crushed tomatoes, and parmesan cheese to the veggies. Stir until well combined.

Boil water and cook the tortellini. Drain the tortellini and add it to the veggie sauce.

Mix and pour into a 9X13 baking dish. Sprinkle mozzarella cheese over the tortellini mixture. Bake for 20 minutes at 350.

Makes 8. Calories: 266, Carbohydrates: 32 grams, Sugar: 7 grams, Fiber: 5 grams, Protein: 17 grams. 

This is perfect for a vegetarian or if you are really craving veggies. Sure you could eat a salad, but it won’t be as awesome. Well, it could be, but I won’t go there. I can get pretty creative with salads.

I love how you have two options in making it. It’s such a simple dish and it will not disappoint. You will feel amazing after you eat this like you’ve fully nourished your body. So if you want to each some ice cream, it’s all good.

I’m so happy I made this. It pairs wonderfully with some sweet red wine.

Leave a Reply

