Cowboy Casserole

I’m in a southwestern mood. It happens. Its rare, but it happens.

I was casually meandering around HEB last week and did not realize it was Texan day or week or whatever that dress like a cowboy day it. I know, I know, I’m from Texas , I live in Texas, I should know that day. But seriously, I haven’t celebrated Texan day since elementary school.

They had samples of cowboy casserole. Originally, I was leary because my mother in law has made it using cornbread and I hated it. It smelled great but tasted like dog shit to me. Then again, I’m not big on cornbread. At all.

Luckily, HEB had their little recipe cards out so I could see the ingredients before I tried the sample.

It was really good. I like the thought of the corn are the filler instead of cornbread. Less calories and less carbs.

I did reduce the 80oz of green sauce to 5oz. I wanted heat but not too much heat. Everything should compliment each other and not compete in burning your tongue off. I also added onions and garlic.

image

Cowboy Casserole

1 pound ground brisket
1/4 sweet onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, chopped
Poblano, Corn, and Rice
5 oz green sauce
15oz can of Borracho Beans
1 1/2 cups corn
1 1/2 cups Mexican cheese, shredded
8oz cream cheese, softened

Directions

Brown brisket with onions and garlic. Drain fat.

While cooking brisket, mix cream cheese with green sauce in a small bowl.

Spray 9×13 baking dish with cooking spray.

Spread brisket mixture on bottom of the baking dish. Add poblano, corn and rice on top of the brisket. Spoon green sauce mixture on top of rice. Spread beans over green sauce. Pour corn over beans and sprinkle cheese over beans.

Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

Makes 12. Calories: 230, Carbohydrates: 21 grams, Sugar: 3 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 10 grams.

This is amazing. You got brisket and rice and beans and corn and cheese and poblano peppers. What’s not to like about it?

Its savory. Everything meshes perfectly. The heat from the poblano is calmed by the corn. The green sauce is subdued and brought to a higher flavor with creaminess thanks to the cream cheese. The brisket pairs nicely with the beans packing the casserole with extra protein. And well, cheese is cheese. If there’s cheese if any kind on any main dish, it will be eaten.

I love how simple it is. Its perfect. It fills you up but its so good you want a second helping of it.

And it doesn’t taste like dog food.

Here’s a side view.
image

Maybe I should have done two cans if beans, but I didn’t want the beans to be noticeable. I felt they should be more of a pleasant surprise.

So yummy.

2 thoughts on “Cowboy Casserole

  1. Pingback: Slow Cooker Tamale Bake | The DIABETIC Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Bacon Cheese and Avocado Brisket Burger | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

