Blackberry Cobbler

Both of my husband’s parents are from Georgia.

What do Georgian’s love – cobbler. Peach cobbler, Apple cobbler.

Its big in Texas also, but I think we like pie a little more.

So by process of elimination, the hubby likes cobbler. Especially peach cobbler because no one makes peach cobbler better than his mom.

But peaches aren’t in season. And blackberries were on sale. Might as well blackberry cobbler. Which in a way is a Texan thing.

I was raised on crumbles because that’s what English people make and love. (Rhubarb and Strawberry = awesomeness). So I have no clue how to make cobbler and what it consists of. This is new. Extremely new and I’m not sure I understand the process.

Why do you place the fruit over the batter instead of under it? It doesn’t make sense. At all.

And then I made it.

image

Blackberry Cobbler

3 1/2 cups fresh blackberries
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup flour
2 tablespoons butter, melted
3 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup milk

Directions

In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and cinnamon.

In a small bowl, combine milk, egg, and but other.

Add egg mixture to flour mixture and stir until everything looks moistened.

Spray the slow cooker with cooking spray and spread the batter over the bottom of the slow cooker.

Place blackberries over batter evenly.

Cook on low for 2 hours.

Makes 8. Calories: 149, Carbohydrates: 25 grams, Sugar: 10 grams, Fiber: 4 grams, Protein: 3 grams.

I tasted the batter before I put it in the slow cooker. Or rather, I lost the spoon and ended up with my fingertips dipped in batter.

And it was…gooooddd…Slightly sweet with hints of cinnamon.

I decided fresh was the way to go over frozen. Especially when using ripe blackberries. The riper the fruit, the sweeter it is. I find frozen fruit to be too tart and you end up sweetening it up using sugar. This recipe had such a step in the directions. Frozen or fresh, it’s up to you. But I will always pick fresh when available.

Other sites use bisquik as the flour in the recipe. Bisquik is basically flour and baking powder, so why not use the two natural ingredients instead of this crazy box mix with added ingredients.

BISQUIK : Enriched Flour Bleached (wheat flour, niacin, iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), Partially Hydrogenated Soybean and/or Cottonseed Oil, Leavening (baking soda, sodium aluminum phosphate, monocalcium phosphate), Dextrose, Salt.

How is the use of Bisquik a good idea? I don’t know. All I see is a periodic table.

The sweet tartness of the blackberries goes perfectly with the cinnamon in the batter. I love it. Add vanilla ice cream or whipped cream and OMG….I love how the heat from the cobbler melts the ice cream perfectly creating an amazing creamy tarty sweetness.
image

I guess the amount of baking powder cases the batter to puff up around the fruit. But still, I like the fruit under and not over the sweet batter.

Leave a Reply

