Banana Foster Bread Pudding

I’m English and I was born in New Orleans. I heart me some bread pudding.

It never occurred to me bread pudding came any other way other than with rum or whiskey sauce until I was at an upscale restaurant that had a banana foster bread pudding. I ordered it, and O.M.G. it was amazing.

After making that cheesecake in the slow cooker, I decided it was time to spread my wings and try something most people shy away from.

And well. Bryan asked me to buy fresh French bread and forgot to eat it. When I found it, two days later, it felt rock hard. I didn’t want to just throw it away being that it hadn’t even been sliced, so bread pudding it is. Then I found the banana foster bread pudding. Bananas. Rum. Bread in pudding form. Hells yeah!

There is no sauce. But that doesn’t stop it from having big flavor. My husband loved it so much, he requested it the next day.

The recipe called for 1 cup of packed brown sugar, I reduced it to 3/4 cup unpacked. I didn’t have spiced rum, so I used coconut rum instead. Personally, I think the coconut rum elevates it. I also forgot the cinnamon and sprinkled it on top of the bananas which brought extra flavor. When I added the cinnamon to the batter mixture, my husband felt it was less flavorful. So put the cinnamon on top of the banana.

image

Banana Foster Bread Pudding

2.5 cups stale bread, cubed
3/4 cup brown sugar, unpacked
2 eggs
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup heavy cream
3 ripe bananas, sliced
4 tablespoons butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup coconut rum
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
1/4 cup shredded coconut

Directions

Spray slow cooker with cooking spray.

Place bread cubes at the bottom.

Dump sliced bananas evenly over the bread crumbs.

In a medium bowl, whisk the eggs. Add vanilla, butter, cream, and rum to the eggs and stir until completely combined. Pour egg mixture over the bananas and bread.

Sprinkle cinnamon over the bananas.

Cook on low for 1 1/2 hours. Add coconut and walnuts on top of the bananas and cook for an additional 30 minutes. Total cook time is 2 hours.

Makes 10. Calories: 313, Carbohydrates: 37 grams, Sugar: 19 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 5 grams.

I absolutely love this dessert. I don’t think I will ever attempt another bread pudding because there is no way I will be able to top this one. It’s sweet, banana-y, cinnamon-y, bread goodness. And the bread puffs up so nicely despite all the recipes I found claiming not to use french bread.

The bananas do turn a wee bit grey in cooking but that is easily rectified by placing fresh sliced bananas on top of the serving with either vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.

Other than that, make it. You won’t regret it. Make it for a pot luck or small gathering. It won’t last and everyone will be talking about it.

One thought on “Banana Foster Bread Pudding

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Pudding Cake | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

