Cinnamon Rolls and A Birthday.

Today is my husband’s birthday.

Last year his birthday was low key. I had just moved up to join him a few days before and didn’t really know what to do. I ended up making him cake and sadly that was all he got.

This year was different. We went to Houston. And most importantly, we had fun.

I had to start it off right so I made cinnamon rolls. Later we went to a movie, haunted some places we frequented, ate yummy food, I baked his favorite dessert from childhood (next post), and we finished the night at our favorite bar with our amazing friends. We ended up getting home at 6AM because one of the couples we were hanging out with wanted to make Bryan a birthday breakfast.

In the end, it was a pretty amazing day. And it always feels good to know there are people that miss you and can’t wait to see you again.

I ended up making these rolls overnight. Well, I stopped at the rising, that way I could just pop it in the oven and bake the next day.

So, at 10:30PM, I started the prepping process as I ear candled Bryan’s ears. Poor thing had a horrible sinus infection. I was doing great until the kneading. I’ve never kneaded before and next thing I know my hands are sticky and it seems there is not enough flour in the world to get me out of this situation. Mumika is talking to me as I’m trying to figure out what to do and finally steps in to help after I got on her about not helping me. Personally, I think she likes to be needed while I’m cooking. I just wished she had started helping me in the first place.

We get everything figured out and potential crisis is averted.

They came out okay, despite lack of cinnamon. We ended up breaking open cinnamon capsules back when I was first diagnosed with diabetes to meet the cinnamon requirement. So it didn’t taste as fresh as it should have. Also, Mumika only had self rising flour, which looking back, now makes sense why the dough never doubled and didn’t have that insane fluffiness. I reduced the sugar in the glaze to 1/4 cup and it tasted perfect. There was no oversaturation of the glaze on top of the cinnamon rolls.

A quick recap – self rising flour = decreased fluffiness, Mum’s should help daughters if they have never worked with yeast before, and cinnamon capsule creates a slight bitter taste.

Other than that, I thought they were awesome. But I will definitely try to make these again when I have a fully functioning kitchen.

Cinnamon Rolls
image

Dough:

2 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 package rapid instant yeast (1 packet = 2 and 1/4 teaspoons)
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup milk
2 1/2 tablespoons butter
1 large egg

Filling:

3 tablespoons butter, melted
2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
1/4 cup sugar
image

Glaze:

3 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup powdered sugar

Directions

In a large bowl, combine flour, yeast, salt, and sugar. Keep an extra 1/2 cup reserved to the side.

In a microwavable container heat up the milk, water, and butter. The milk mixture needs to be hot to the touch.

Stir in milk mixture into flour mixture and add the egg. As you stir, add some extra flour to the mixture until the dough becomes soft and starts to pull away from the bowl.

On a floured surface, knead dough for 3 – 4 minutes. Make sure your hands are floured as well or else the dough will stick to your hands. Spray a large bowl with cooking spray and place the dough in it. Let the dough set in the bowl for 10 minutes.

As you wait those 10 minutes, in a small bowl mix the sugar and cinnamon together.

After the 10 minutes is up, on a floured surface, roll the dough out into a fairly large rectangle. Also make sure to flour the rolling pin that way the dough will not stick.

Brush the melted butter on top of the dough. Then sprinkle the cinnamon and sugar mixture over the melted butter.

Roll the dough tightly and cut into 11 pieces. Place these pieces in a sprayed baking dish (I used a round tart dish).

Cover the baking dish with plastic and find a dry place to allow the dough to rise. It takes about 60 minutes for the dough to double in size, or you can leave them in the oven overnight to rise (which is what I did).
image

Bake at 375 for 25 minutes. To stop the browning process, loosely put aluminum foil over the rolls while in the over after 15 minutes.

As you wait for the cinnamon rolls to bake, mix the milk, vanilla extract, and powdered sugar in a small bowl. The glaze will look a little off white.

Once the cinnamon rolls are done baking, drizzle the glaze over them.

image

Makes 11. Calories: 184, Carbohydrates: 28 grams, Sugar: 9 grams, Fiber: 1 gram, Protein: 4 grams.

I really enjoyed these cinnamon rolls. I’m not a fan of the pop and bake cinnamon rolls my husband adores and I feel like these are way healthier.

The recipe may look hard and time consuming, but you only have to let the dough rise once. There are a lot more complex cinnamon roll recipes out there that leave you scratching your head wondering why this is done twice, if the steps are correct, or if you are even reading it right. As a person that has never made cinnamon rolls in her life, I have found the less complex the better. Once you’ve made the first batch, it gets quite simple after that. I also love how you can make it the night before. Which is perfect when you have company over.

Also, there isn’t the use of bisquik. Pure ingredients all the way. It doesn’t get any better than that.

Leave a Reply

