Chocolate Pudding Cake

My husband has high standards, especially when it comes to food. We are foodies and we know it. Our honeymoon was more centered on yummy cuisine than anything else. We did do a lot of stuff in Maui – snokel, luau, spa package, road to Hanna, collected red and black sand, lavender fields, wine tasting, shopping, bars, karaoke. However, it you mention the amazing chicken roulades he had a the 3 Waves Restaurant, you can see him salivate remembering how amazing that dish was. When we got married, we cared more about the quality of the food than anything else. We went to at least 20 bridal open houses and ended up going with the first one we went to because the food was absolutely amazing.

That being said, I know my food, the food I cook for him, will never be a 10. When I ask for a number, which if it’s something I think is absolutely amazing, I always ask for 1 – 9. I got an 8.5 on the banana fosters bread pudding. And bread pudding doesn’t tickly his fancy.

As his birthday came hurling at us, I asked him what he wanted for a cake. He didn’t want a cake. But then I made the bread pudding. He looks at me and says, “Do you want a 10?” Of course I want a 10! I get 7 and 8 constantly. I want a bloody 10! He gets out a Hershey’s chocolate recipe book, finds a page with chocolate smeared all over it and points to the recipe. “That will give you a 10 every single time.”

It’s a bloody chocolate pudding cake.

It figures it would be the simplest cake devised. But it’s his favorite cake from his childhood. It’s like me and my trifle. I get it. I gotcha.

So I made it. And I got a 9.95. A 9.95!?!?!?! Why? Because Mumika only has self bloody rising flour instead of all purpose and so the cake was too fluffy for his liking. I’m going to have to make it again next week or something to get that bloody 10. Oh, and I didn’t put the full amount of sugar. As you know, I do not pack any sort of brown sugar. I had to supplement because Mumika only had dark brown sugar instead of light brown. So considering so many things went potentially wrong with this cake and I got a 9.95 on it. I think I did alright.

DO NOT USE SELF RISING FLOUR! If you only have dark brown sugar (which I think is nasty. Light brown all the way. Light brown has a more subdued flavor, caramel flavor), use 1/4 of a cup.
image

Chocolate Pudding Cake

7 tablespoons of chocolate cocoa, divided
1 cup flour
1 1/4 cup hot water
1 1/4 cup sugar, divided
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup milk
1/3 cup butter, melted
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup light brown sugar

Directions

In a medium bowl, combine 3/4 cup sugar, flour, 3 tablespoons cocoa, baking powder, and salt.

Blend in milk, butter, and vanilla. Mix until smooth.

Pour batter into a square 8X8 pan.

In a small bowl combine 1/2 cup sugar, brown sugar, and 4 tablespoons of cocoa. Sprinkle the mixture evenly over the batter.

Pour hot water evenly on top. DO NOT STIR.

Bake at 350 for 40 minutes. Let it stand for 15 minutes before serving. Serve by spooning chocolate sauce at bottom of pan on top of cake.

Makes 10 serving. Calories: 245, Carbohydrates: 47 grams, Sugar: 35 grams, Fiber: 1 gram, Protein: 2.5 grams.

This cake is pretty phenomenal. I understand why it’s Bryan’s favorite. Add cool whip or some vanilla ice cream that melts perfectly on top of the cake and it’s pretty close to heavenly. It’s like a chocolate sundae cake if you add ice cream. Or the soupy creamy chocolateness when the cool whip melts. Yes!

It is definitely not diabetic friendly. However, it is Bryan’s birthday, and he did want the EXACT recipe even though I did have to substitute here and there. I’ll have to try and cut the sugar down next time.

It’s so easy to make. This is easier than making chocolate chip cookies. And Bryan was so cute. “Did you pour the hot water on top?” “Did you pour it in one spot or made sure it was evenly disbursed?” The man was worried I would ruin his cake. And then he was literally looking at the clock every 5 minutes. “Is it done?” “How many more minutes?” He was like a 5 year old. How does that differ from normal days? It was his birthday and a special cake was being made just for him.

If you have never had this cake and you have a 4 year old, make it for his or her birthday. Get them the big awesome cake with Disney’s Frozen characters on it for the party but on his actual birthday, make them this cake. Something tells me a tradition will develop until they are old and gray starting with you, their parents, and ending with their children baking it for their 95th birthday. This is where memories are created. I’m not joking. Bryan has this cake that brings him back to a simpler time just like I have that trifle. And everyone wants to be 5 again, even if it’s from something as innocent as having a slice of their favorite cake.

Sad thing is, Mumika gets the rest of the cake because we were in such a rush to leave that I forgot to put some in the plastic container I brought the bread pudding in. But whatever. I have to make it again with the right ingredients anyway.

I guess every year on Bryan’s birthday for the rest of our marriage, I will be making this cake.

Leave a Reply

