St. Patrick’s Day Menu

Growing up, St. Patrick’s day was a big holiday in my household. My dad was Irish and when he died Mumika decided that I needed to d something that honoured his ancestry.

The one thing she forced me to do was the best thing that happened to me: Irish dancing.

You know Riverdance, Feet of Flames, Lord of the Dance – yeah – I did that. Before it became a global phenomenon. When I saw Michael Flatley dance in Feet of Flames, I cried for 20 minutes straight.

So needless to say, St. Patrick’s day is huge for me. I used to pub hop dancing on and around St. Patrick’s day for my dance school. There’s a lot of epic memories from those years of dance. Even when I wasn’t dancing, I would be at one of the top 10 places to celebrate St. Patrick’s day – Mucky Duck, watching my school do their thing and listening to the awesome Irish music while drinking Harp. No green beer here. Only Irish beer – the good stuff.

But I am no longer in Houston. I’m in the country where there’s some Mexican Restaurant advertising about how they are the number 1 St. Patty party in the area. Why would I go to the Mexican restaurant for an Irish holiday?

So I’m going to make some Irish food instead. It’ll make me feel better. Although I am missing all the awesome festivities. At least I don’t have to worry about accidentally hitting someone with my flying shoe while I danced like last time I was at Mucky Duck.

St. Patrick’s Day Menu

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls
Colcannon
Lemon Pudding Tart

 

Leave a Reply

