Impossible Pie

Pie day was two days ago. Since I was busy working my ass off all day, and I had made two pies earlier this week, I decided the week would be more of a pie week.

In celebration of π.

That and I’m on a easy pie making kick. Pie 1. Pie 2.
Today, I attempted the impossible pie. I see it plastered on 6 Facebook recipe pages every 5 weeks. It looks easy, all if them are the coconut version but the amounts for the ingredients differ. Makes me wonder if these people actually attempt to make then food they post. I bet they don’t.

I did some research on this impossible pie. Turns out it was a marketing strategy from Bisquik back in the 70’s.

Forgot the PTA meeting and its your turn to bring a dessert. We got you covered. Make this pie in a flash and it will taste so good the ladies will ask, “How does she do it?” Ok, that might be more if a 50’s mentality but I would think the suburban culture with Moms trying to be supermom back then would sort of be that way.

Then you have the other theory that it was bisquik’s answer to cobbler. However, nowadays people use bisquik to make cobbler.

I choose not to use bisquik for this pie and I reduced the sugar. Why have 3/4 cup sugar when there’s a cup of sweetened coconut flakes? So I did 1/2 cup. If you choose to use bisquik, make homemade bisquick. Use the same amount as the flour.
image

Impossible Pie

1 cup sweetened shredded coconut
1/2 cup sugar
4 tablespoons butter
1/4 cup self rising flour
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup milk
2 eggs

Directions

Melt butter and mix it in a medium bowl with the sugar.

Whisk the eggs into the sugar mixture.

Add the coconut, flour, milk, vanilla and stir until well combined.

Pour into a greased pie dish and bake at 350 for 38 minutes.

Makes 8. Calories: 181, Carbohydrates: 21 grams, Sugar: 17 grams, Protein: 3 grams. 

This is insanely easy to make, like 5 minutes at most. The pie should be called insanely easy pie.

It makes it’s own crust.

What. the….wow.

It’s like a cobbler in the sense that the fruit mysteriously floats to the top.

It’s a little dense, but good. The coconut flavor is everywhere, in the filling, on top, and in the crust.

I’m really happy that I cut the sugar down. Even though it was a mere 1/4 cup, it came out perfectly. Like I said before, why have so much sugar with the coconut. Most of the sugar is in the coconut.

The major thing about this pie was the comments on the website I got it from. Every other comment was about the cooking time and how the pie came out scorched, burned, inedible. Coconut is a very fragile food when heat is applied on it in the first place. You have to watch the oven literally to make sure you don’t burn it while attempting to toast it. So needless to say, I was a wee bit worried.

I cut the time down to somewhere between 35 and 40 minutes. I waited until the crust was more of a caramel colour instead of browned. The pie will puff up in the middle but will go back to normal as it cools outside of the oven. I also put it just in the oven like it was nothing. The original directions wanted it on the lowest rack. Hmmm….maybe that’s why there were complaints of burning and what have you.

Leave a Reply

