Irish Lemon Pudding Tart

I came across this recipe a few months ago and the concept intrigued me. Essentially, it’s a lemon custard in a tart shell. Technically I could have just made the custard, but I liked this idea better. And there’s only 3 tablespoons of sugar in the crust, and 1/2 cup sugar in the custard.

I like not having to tweak things.

This is also a recipe (without the tart shell) that has been taken out of a book called Irish Traditional Cooking where the author has been deemed the Julia Child of Ireland. I’m not sure about all of that, but it definitely doesn’t get more Irish than that.

Am I going to buy the book? Probably not. Am I going to try to make this lemon pudding without the tart shell one day? Hells yeah.

I do find it interesting how different European culture is to American culture. Americans think of Jell-O pudding when you hear pudding, Europeans think of custard instead. My cousin’s husband called the chocolate torte a chocolate pudding pie or something like that. And I was thinking, how on earth is that pudding? Considering America was full of European settlers back in the 1700s, it’s amazing what the evolution of food in America has become. Pizza in America is no where close to pizza in Italy.

It’s sort of like America has bastardize food to meet societal standards. I’m not saying here in America we have ruined food, we have more or less renamed food to fit what we believe food should be like.

I’ve totally gone off tangent.

image

Irish Lemon Pudding Tart

Crust:

1/2 cup butter, melted
1 1/4 cups flour
3 tablespoons sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt

Lemon Pudding
Juice of 2 lemons
Zest of 1 lemon
1/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons butter, melted
2 eggs, yolks separated from white
1/2 cup flour
1 cup milk

Directions

For the tart shell
Mix the butter with the sugar in a medium bowl.

Add the flour and salt to the sugar mixture using a wooden spoon.

Dough should form into a ball.

Press the dough into a 9 inch pie dish. Cover with plastic wrap and chill in the fridge for 30 minutes.

Once dough is chilled, prick it with a fork on the sides and the bottom. Bake for 10 minutes at 350°.

To make the Lemon Pudding

Cream sugar with butter.

Desperate yolk from egg white. Put yolks in sugar mixture whisking until light and fluffy.

Set egg whites aside in a bowl or container big enough where you can fit a hand mixer.

Add lemon zest and juice as well as the flour. Mix until well combine.

Slowly pour the milk into the bowl. There may be bubbles around the edges as you stir the batter.

Take a hand mixer to the egg whites and beat them until stiff peaks form. It will take shape as a meringue.

Slowly pour egg whites into batter and gently fold into the batter. Do not fully combine the whites with the batter. The will be lumpy.

Pour batter into tart shell and bake for 30 minutes at 350°.

Makes 12. Calories: 200, Carbohydrates: 23 grams, Sugar: 9 grams, Protein: 4 grams.

I reduced the zest amount. Bryan hates zest and always complains about how I put too much in.

It is a wee bit tart but in a good way. Bryan claimed it was bland. I thought it was more creamy than anything else. The tart shell is more of a shortbread which I thought complimented the lemon pudding.

It smelled nice cooking and it tastes yummy hot or cold. I prefer it cold. I also like how it has a remote layered look.

Next time I’ll just make with out the tart shell.

3 thoughts on “Irish Lemon Pudding Tart

  1. Pingback: Lemon Pudding Cake | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

