Cilantro Parmesan Corn

It just sounds good.

I love corn. I really really do. Corn has to be a comfort food for every single person on the planet. I can’t think of any culture that doesn’t use corn in some shape or form.

Food number #2 my stupid nutritionist told me I could rarely eat was corn. I was pissed. She took pasta from me and then she took corn from me; shaking my very existence.

“You can only eat half an ear, and you can have it on rare occasions.”

“Oh, hell no!”

I really hate diabetic nutritionist. They like to tell me what I can and cannot eat. Needless to say, I only saw her once.

Half the time for the first 3 months, I would cry because in my head, I couldn’t eat. Everything I wanted to eat, I was told I couldn’t. So, I went starving for 3 months. 3 bloody months. Crying, looking at food saying in high pitched only dogs can hear you voice, “I don’t know what to eat!” 3 fucking horrible months.

And then I said fuck it.
image

Cilantro Parmesan Corn

4 cups of corn, I did frozen instead of canned because the fresh corn was not looking to hot.
3 tablespoons butter
1 garlic clove
1 tablespoon lime juice
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/8 teaspoon cayenne
1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese
1/3 cup heavy cream
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup cilantro
1/2 cup sliced onions

Directions

In a large skillet over medium heat, melt butter.

Add garlic, onions, and corn to skillet, coating the corn in butter and cooking for a few minutes.

Add lime juice and spices.

Stir in cheese and slowly add heavy cream.

Continue stirring until cream is absorbed by the corn.

Stir in cilantro.

Makes 10. Calories: 143, Carbohydrates: 17 grams, Sugar: 3 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 4 grams.

I added onions. I also reduced the amount of spices because I felt they would overpower the meshing of natural flavors.

This corn tastes amazing. It like a modern version of creamed corn with a kick. There are definitely southwestern or Mexican flavors thanks to the spices. The cream and parmesan help soothe these flavors. And the cilantro adds to these undertones.

Bryan was asking for seconds and thirds.

This would also go great with enchiladas, tacos, tamales.

So yummy. Take that stupid diabetes nutritionist.

One thought on “Cilantro Parmesan Corn

  1. Pingback: The Diabetic Kitchen turns 1 and the Thanksgiving menu | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

