Mac & Cheese

Growing up, Mac and Cheese was not a staple in my house.

It wasn’t until my senior year of high school that mac and cheese came into my life. My best friend and I would scarf a whole box down after marching practice. By college, it was considered comfort food. I don’t know why, I guess because it was cheap and I love cheese.

Then I got diabetes and realized mac and cheese is a thing of the past.

Look at the ingredients: Enriched Macaroni product (wheat flour, niacin, ferrous sulfate [iron], thiamin mononitrate [vitamin B1], riboflavin [vitamin B2], folic acid); cheese sauce mix (whey, milkfat, milk protein concentrate, salt, sodium tripolyphosphate, contains less than 2% of citric acid, lactic acid, sodium phosphate, calcium phosphate, yellow 5, yellow 6, enzymes, cheese culture)

At 47 grams of carbs for 1 cup prepared, there is just no way I could eat the stuff.

But lately, life hacks have been posting about a new way to make mac and cheese. You know how I feel about these things. But I already had cheese, macaroni, and milk, so I figured why not. If it comes out wrong at least I can warn people.

macandcheese

Mac and Cheese

2 cups milk
2 cups macaroni
2 cups cheddar cheese

Directions

In a medium pot pour in milk and macaroni. Set on medium heat.

Stir continuously until milk comes to a boil.

Stir in cheese, remove from heat, and keep covered for 5 minutes.

Makes 8. Calories: 180, Carbohydrates: 14 grams, Sugar: 3 grams, Protein: 10 grams.

This is too easy.

When you stir in the cheese, the macaroni will not be soft. Hence the covering. The steam cooks the macaroni leaving a creamy cheesy mac and cheese.

I was speechless for 5 minutes after I took the cover off of the pot, looked in the pot and found perfect mac and cheese. It’s insane. Absolutely insane. And it’s perfect.

The problems I’ve had with homemade mac and cheese is the whole thing is bland and you can’t taste the cheese. When I tasted this life hack, all you could taste is the cheese. It was literally the most amazing mac and cheese I’ve ever had. No eggs. No bread crumbs. Just pure ingredients.

And it’s only 14 grams of carbs! I went from 47 grams to 14 grams. Diabetic and mac and cheese lover rejoice, there’s a way around those pesky carbs.

This is obviously the healthy version which happens to be the yummy version.

My only problem is that it loses flavor when refrigerated so make sure you eat it when it’s ready. When it’s nice and gooey.

Life Hack – approved.

 

One thought on “Mac & Cheese

  1. Pingback: Mac and Cheese Stuffed Meatballs | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

