Pecan Pie

When I was a teen, Mumika made a pecan pie. It was the one and only time she has ever made it.

The first thing I noticed was the appearance of karo syrup. We don’t do things that way. Maybe that’s why she never made it again. And the karo syrup – well, it never moved from the spot she placed it on in the pantry.

During my let’s make 3 different pies madness, Bryan asked for a pecan pie. I told him we would have to wait until all the pies were eaten. In reality, I was looking for a recipe that didn’t have karo syrup in it.

Karo syrup is one of those products I am definitely against. I can’t trust anything that never expires. 12 million years from now, you could use that bottle that is still in Mumika’s pantry from like 15 years ago. It just doesn’t make sense.

Anyway, I found what is considered “Old Fashioned” pecan pies. I guess this is how they made pecan pie before karo syrup came onto the scene revolutionizing baked goods. But people are getting smart and realizing that the way we made stuff before the introduction of sweetners had less diseases. Diabetes was rare. So was ADD or ADHD, Autism, Down Syndrome….the list goes on.

So if you want a real pie without modified anything full of pecans. This pie is for you.
image

Pecan Pie

1 1/2 cups pecan halves
1/2 cup chopped pecan
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
1/2 cup butter, melted
2 eggs
2 tablespoons flour
2 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
A frozen deep dish pie crust

Directions

In a medium mixing bowl, whisk eggs.

Add melted butter and sugars, stirring into the eggs.

Add flour, milk, and vanilla extract to the mixture. Stir until well combined.

Add the pecans, coating the pecans in batter.

Pour pecans into the frozen pie shell.

Bake at 400 for 10 minutes and reduce to 325 for 40 minutes.

Makes 12. Calories: 317, Carbohydrates: 23 grams, Sugar: 14 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 4 grams.

I reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and after tasting the batter, it still tasted too sweet. Then I realized I already had a sweet taste in my mouth from eating this horrendously sweet cake slice my mother in law saved me. It was from church and they loaded it with extra “goodies” which in the end made me feel like my teeth were going to rot. Or I’m getting used to quality home baked goods designed solely so that I can eat it.

Irony: A type 2 diabetic complaining about sugar, cake, and sweetness to a type 1 diabetic.

“You need to eat this slice of cake I left for you. I’ve already ate too much.”

This pie smelled amazing while and after it baked. It smelled so good, my mother in law asked for the recipe.

And when I finally dug into it, I felt it was too sweet. So reduce the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup. But it taste better than any pecan pie I’ve eaten. Although technically, pecan pie is a no go do to the amount of carbs and sugar in it.

The main reason why I did mostly pecan halves came from Bryan. He’s always complaining about how processed the pecan pies look at the store. It also gives the pie a real nutty flavor. You can literally taste the pecan because you can see the pecan and you know it is loaded with pecans. There are so many pecans in this pie, it took me a while to figure out how to cut the pie. Then again, I was using a plastic knife.

Amazingly, it still did that separation of layers. But the pie gives you more of a praline feeling. I’m not complaining, I love me some pralines.

Basically, this is an awesome pie that has a good wholesome taste packed with pecans. A sliver will indulge your sweet tooth. Besides, you want a pie where you can see the pecan halves and not that pecan dust flecked on the surface attempting to seduce you but you know better, you know it’s nothing but that sickening sweet karo syrupy filling underneath.

 

One thought on “Pecan Pie

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Pie Filling | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

