Tomato, Cucumber, Feta Salad

I love tomatoes.
I love cucumbers.
I love feta.

It only makes sense that these three foods should come together to make a mini salad. It’s not a full salad; it’s not a few random vegetables put together; it’s a mini salad. What’s a mini salad? All the good stuff inside the salad without the leafy greens.

When Bryan grills (something I’ve been making him do on a weekly basis), it’s a steak with either green beans or asparagus that has also been grilled. It tastes amazing, but I wanted something light and crisp to go with it. Enter, this salad.

It doesn’t get healthier than this. Two of the ingredients are considered negative calorie food. What’s negative calorie food? Food that causes your body to expend more calories digesting it than the amount of calories in it. Most vegetables, except the nonstarchy ones, are negative calorie foods.

It pairs well with any meat. We happened to have it with steak. You can put it on top of chicken or fish. Hell, it would be great as a snack.

image

Tomato, Cucumber, Feta Salad

50 grape tomatoes, halved
1 cup cucumbers, chopped
1/2 cup feta

Directions

Dump ingredients into a bowl and mix.

Makes 4. Calories: 78, Carbohydrates: 8 grams, Sugar: 3 grams, Protein: 3 grams.

I like simple recipes. I like simple recipes that taste delicious.

There’s the crunch from the cucumbers, the sweetness of the grapes, and the saltiness of the feta that creates something so magical, so simple, so perfect. I could eat this every day.

Unfortunately, my husband ate it all. That’s right. Before I could go back for more, he poured all the contents in the bowl onto his plate and ate it. Then he looked at me and said, “More?” Really sweetie, really! Next time, I’m going to have to use a pint and a half of tomatoes, a whole cucumber, and a cup of feta. Something tells me he will still manage to eat all of it. Dump the whole thing on his plate or just eat out of the bowl.

This is going to be staple in my house, I can feel it.

Leave a Reply

