Chocolate Rice Krispie Treats

Last week I bought me a box of rice krispie treats. Not the best thing to buy diabetic wise but it’s only like 90 calories and I have no clue what the carb count is.

Hold on.

17 grams of carbs, 8 grams of sugar. Bloody hell. And I just looked at the ingredients *hangs her head in shame*.

Ingredients: TOASTED RICE CEREAL (RICE, SUGAR, SALT, MALT FLAVORING, NIACINAMIDE, REDUCED IRON, RIBOFLAVIN [VITAMIN B2], FOLIC ACID), MARSHMALLOW (CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, GELATIN, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR), FRUCTOSE, MARGARINE (VEGETABLE OIL [SOYBEAN AND PALM OIL WITH TBHQ FOR FRESHNESS], WATER, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL BUTTER FLAVOR [CONTAINS MILK], DATEM, ACETYLATED MONOGLYCERIDES, BHT FOR FRESHNESS, VITAMIN A PALMITATE, VITAMIN D), CORN SYRUP SOLIDS, CONTAINS TWO PERCENT OR LESS OF DEXTROSE, GLYCERIN, SALT, NIACINAMIDE, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B6), THIAMIN HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B1), RIBOFLAVIN (VITAMIN B2), SOY LECITHIN.

That’s a mouthful. Why is there fructose if there’s sugar in the marshmallow and the rice cereal? Why do they use margarine and then add an artificial butter flavor? So many questions.

Completely beside the point- where was I?

So bought a box of these evil artificial gooey chalk full of ingredient if you can even call them ingredients more like chemicals I can’t pronounce, and my husband ate 2 of them!

I buy him his own snacks. Snacks that I won’t even touch mind you and without fail he dips into my snacks of applesauce and granola bars. Every. Single. Time. Then he takes chocolate chips and smushes them into the rice krispie treat and proceeds to tell me he wants homemade ones with chocolate chips in them. I double check to make sure he wants the chocolate chips in them and not smushed on top.

And then I go out and buy the ingredients after doing some research on how to make these bloody things.

Then I make them, and the whole thing goes to hell. The recipe I found lied to me so I ended up with chocolate rice krispie treats. That’s right, I just rolled with the punches and was all, I totally meant to do that when I really didn’t and I’m mad that I didn’t catch the lie in time.

Sometimes, I’m forgetful. I blame the blonde in me. I’m a coconut. Brunette on the outside, total blonde on the inside. If putting something that melts in a heated contraption with hot food inside, it’s going to melt. Of course it’s going to melt! What the hell was I thinking?!?!? Oh right, I wasn’t.

So the chocolate chips melted on me. And after completely making the whole thing, I realized A) there was no way I was going to get chocolate chips in the mixture without them melting and B) how on earth do Moms make this shit by themselves? Getting the mixture out of the pot is a two person effort with one of them using insulated gloves. What.The.Hell. It’s madness.

Something tells me, I might not make them until I have kids. And I have 1/4 of the box left. Bryan will totally eat them except we don’t have milk. Damnit! Damn it all to hell.

What this recipe is, in reality, is a good base for when you want you use lucky charms, trix, fruity pebbles, fruit loops, basically any sugary cereal that isn’t rice krispies and make a cereal snack bar out of it.

Other than that, it’s pointless. Unless you have kids. Or a 31 year old who thinks he’s 5.

On the other hand, if you want to make the chocolate version of the vanilla version and don’t feel like paying an extra 10 cents for the chocolate rice krispies and happen to have chocolate chips at home, this recipe is right up your alley. See how I did that, making lemonade out of those evil tart lemons that I want to throw at the wall.
image

Chocolate Rice Krispies Treats

6 cups Rice Krispies cereal
40 marshmallow
3 tablespoons butter
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions

In a large saucepan, melt the butter on low.

Once butter is melted, add marshmallows and stir until marshmallows are completely melted.

Stir in vanilla.

Dump cereal into sauce pan and mix into the marshmallows.

Add the chocolate chip and mix until well incorporated.

Dump cereal mixture onto a sprayed 9X13 cookie sheet and press down to even the mixture out with wax paper.

Let it cool down before cutting into bars.

Makes 24. Per bar. Calories: 104, Carbohydrates: 19 grams, Sugar: 12 grams.

Not bad considering I added chocolate to the mix. The recipe called for 1 cup of mini chocolate chips. Yeah, that is totally not going to happen. If they were normal sized, maybe, but minis, that is too much.

Next time, which probably won’t be for a year, I’ll make a normal rice krispie treat and smush mini chocolate chips in it. Yeah.

One thought on “Chocolate Rice Krispie Treats

  1. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

