Spinach and Onions Saute

When I was first diagnosed, I ate about 2 cups of spinach everyday. Didn’t matter how I ate it be it salad, salad, more salad, in a sandwich, or sautéed.

And what happened? My eyesight went 20/20 and I didn’t wear my glasses for a month. But then I missed 1 day, one stupid day, and my sight went back to normal.

Ever since the last hospitalization, me and spinach don’t get along. I’m rather flatulent and its rather rancid. But I love this sauté.

image

Spinach and Onion Sauté

9 oz bag of spinach
1/4 of an onion, sliced
1 clove of garlic, chopped
3 oz of chicken broth

Directions

In a large skillet over medium heat, dump all the ingredients and stir occasionally.

Once the spinach has wilted and the onions are translucent, remove from heat and serve.

Makes 4. Calories: 34, Carbohydrates: 7 grams, Sugar: 2 grams, Fiber: 2 gram, Protein: 3 grams.

Why chicken broth instead of butter like most people make it? Less carbs and fat. A sauté is more of a way lighter of cooking.

Why drown your vegetables in fat? Why?

So don’t. Give into the broth.

Leave a Reply

