Reese Pieces Blondies

Blondies. I had never heard of them until about a year ago when they became all the rage.

What is a Blondie?

Supposedly its a brownie but without the cocoa and it has chocolate chips in it.

But on further inspection its not like a brownie at all. Its more like a chocolate chip cookie in a bar form. So why is it called a brownie? Beats me.

Instead of using chocolate chips, I decided to use Reeses Pieces. I wanted to do something different. I also reduced the sugar from 2 cups to 1 cup. Actually I did a lot of tweaking, the numbers didn’t look right to me. A tablespoon of vanilla? Seriously. I love vanilla, but not that much. Also, 2 cups of flour is plenty.

And I was soo looking forward to making them, too.

image

Reese Pieces Blondies

2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon Kosher salt
1 cup light brown sugar
1 cup unsalted butter
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3/4 cup of Reeses Pieces + 1/4 for embellishing the top

Directions

Spray a 9 x 13 inch pan with cooking spray.

In a medium bowl mix together the flour, baking powder and salt.

In large bowl, beat together butter, sugar, egg and vanilla until smooth.

Stir in the flour mixture until well blended. Add 3/4 of a cup of Reese’s Pieces. Mix gently.

Spread evenly in prepared pan. I had to press the batter with my hands to spread it evenly.

Sprinkle 1/4 of a cup of Reese’s Pieces on top, pushing down with your hand to make sure it has adhered to the cookie like batter.

Bake 25-30 minutes at 350°

Cool slightly. While still warm, cut into bars with a sharp knife.

Makes 30 bars. Calories: 378, Carbohydrates: 32 grams, Sugar: 18 grams, Fiber: 1 gram, Protein: 4 grams.

This is not diabetic friendly at all. Even with the reduction of sugar, it’s not even close to being diabetic friendly. The amount if butter doesn’t help either. I probably should have decreased that amount also. But I was scared, it would ruin the consistency of the blondie.

This is another example of why America is sugar obsessed.

Next time I’ll make a normal blondie. With less sugar and less butter. I should have known better using candy.

It does taste good. The peanut butter from the Reese’s pieces created a nice creaminess. My only problem is that its crumbly. Which I’m thinking its from the reduction of sugar. If you wait until the blondie has completely cooled, it will crumble when you attempt to cut it.

Make sure you have a nice big glass of cold milk near you because you will need it.

Leave a Reply

