Greek Pasta Salad

A few years ago Bryan and I attempted P90X. We started it in July of 2010 because Bryan had gained a lot of weight during my pregnancy and we felt it would help with my recovery due to the near death and coma 4 months before.

Diabetes like to try to kill me. Or at least when I was on name brand bovine RNA, it did. After the 2nd near death and coma, I decided generic would work which happens to use Human RNA. Now why would I put insulin for a cow in me instead of a human to begin with? Beats me. Sometimes I feel that most doctors are about the drug companies and not the patient. But that’s for a different rant.

During the 2 months we lasted (I started my internship for grad school – 40 hour weeks at the internship, 3 hours a week for class, 25 hours a week at work – and Bryan managed to sprain a muscle doing yoga the second week caused us to stop), I had to change our eating habits to fit the needs of a body doing a form of extreme exercise. I came up with this recipe because a) it has a lot of protein in it, b) packed with vegetables, and c) it was filling.

Bryan and I love the Greek pasta salad at the local Mediterranean restaurant we used to go to, so I decided to make it and adapt it to our protein needs. I think Bryan had to eat like 8 ounces of protein a meal back then. It was insane.

Now it’s a spring/summertime favorite of ours.

image

Greek Pasta Salad

12 oz bag of garden rotini
6 thinly sliced chicken breast
1 tablespoon Italian seasonings
1/2 cucumber, chopped
tomato, chopped
6 oz crumbled feta
1/4 cup greek dressing
2 oz chopped walnuts
avocado, deseeded and chopped

Directions

Cook the pasta. Drain the pasta in a colander.

While the pasta is cooking, season chicken with Italian seasonings and cook the chicken. Once chicken is cooked, chop it up.

In a large bowl, dump pasta, chicken, feta, cucumber, walnuts, avocado, and tomatoes.

Mix contents in the bowl until well combined.

Add greek dressing to the pasta salad and mix.

Makes 10 servings. Calories: 359, Carbohydrates: 37 grams, Sugar: 2 grams, Fiber: 3 grams, Protein: 26 grams.

I love this dish. Every time I make it, it tastes amazing. Everything compliments each other. There’s the tanginess of the greek dressing, saltiness of the feta, crunchiness of the cucumbers, creaminess of the avocadoes. Perfection.

This is perfect as a side (without the chicken), or a well balanced dinner. It has everything -carbohydrates, protein, and vegetables – you need. Heart it.

 

 

One thought on “Greek Pasta Salad

  1. Pingback: Greek Tortellini Salad | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

