Substitution for corn syrup

If you have read my pecan pie post, you know my problem with corn syrup.

Only problem is that its everywhere. Every yummy recipe I have come across lately has the damn stuff in it. Brownie – corn syrup. Cookies – corn syrup (why in cookies, that’s the question). Candy – corn syrup.

That’s why candy never has an expiration. Corn syrup!

I will not use the stuff in any if my baking. Not going to happen.

So I do what everyone that is on a rampage cuz they can’t bake what I want to bake – I do research.

And I found a substitution for corn syrup.

Its not good, definitely not great, but it will do.

cornsyrup

For light corn syrup
1 cup white sugar
1/4 cup warm water

For dark corn syrup
1 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup warm water

Directions

Dissolve sugar into warm water.

Makes a cup of the substitute.
Light syrup –
Dark syrup –

So wait.

Light corn syrup is basically white sugar and dark corn syrup is brown sugar. *mind is blown*

Hmmm. I guess the darker the syrup the darker the brown sugar. I really should have seen it coming. Brown sugar is basically white sugar mixed with molasses pulverized in a food processor.

Maybe I should make my own brown sugar one day.

At least I can make yummy German chocolate brownies now. And homemade caramel. And caramelitas. And salted caramel chocolate chip cookies.

Yeah. See what we’ve been missing out on. Lots of horribly bad for you made good for you yummies!

2 thoughts on “Substitution for corn syrup

  1. Pingback: Simple Syrup | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

